Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2002, 07:03 AM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 858
Default Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

I have noticed that if I highlight and cut a section out of one part of a guitar track and then paste it elsewhere in the track, I am actually copying the entire track over again. This is taking up large amounts of disk space and I was wondering if I am doing this wrong.

Basically, I am trying to cut or sometimes copy a guitar part section of a track into another location in the track (to compensate for a poor performance or a bad note). I would have thought that highlighting a section of a track and then copying just that section would only create an additional audio file on the HD that was the size of the cut piece rather than the entire track.

HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2002, 09:27 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,766
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

All editing performed in the Edit Window is non-destructive. Therefore, when you cut/copy/paste regions to different locations, Pro Tools is only using those regions as "pointers" to the source audio file.

As you can see in the Properties section, a Pro Tools session file is very small in comparison to an audio file (a few hundred kbytes compared to a few MB).

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2002, 04:59 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 858
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

Thanks Brent. I guess my question then is why is it necessary for PT to make a complete copy of the audio file each time there is an edit? If it is just pointers, why can't the pointers point to the same audio file? Or alternatively, shouldn't there be an option for destructive editing? Or better yet, maybe a function that "cleans-up" all unused portions of an audio file and just keeps the bits that are highlighted by the pointers. That would save HUGE on disk space no?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2002, 05:28 PM
Roy Howell Roy Howell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,635
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

Markus,
There's a 'Destructive' record option, I think under 'Operations', which will erase all previous takes for you.

~Roy
__________________
rh music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2002, 07:06 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,114
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

Quote:
Originally posted by markus44uk:
I guess my question then is why is it necessary for PT to make a complete copy of the audio file each time there is an edit?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">It doesn't. The only times that PT actually writes audio files to the disk is when you actually record audio, when you bounce to disk, and when you process with Audiosuite plug-ins. Simple editing does not create audio files. Oh, I forgot Fades. Fades are actually audio files (usually very small ones) that are written to disk in the Fades folder for that session.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2020.5.0 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2002, 08:33 PM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

Right- the thing that looks like a new file- a new region- is a definition of the parameters of the file: (starts here, ends here) that shows up in the regions list, as does new audio files, which is why it's easy to think they are new wave files but they aren't.

That was the aspect of Cool Edit Pro that would drive me nuts. Everything you did created a duplicate file.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2002, 09:28 PM
mfym mfym is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 992
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

markus44uk wrote:

Quote:
Or better yet, maybe a function that "cleans-up" all unused portions of an audio file and just keeps the bits that are highlighted by the pointers. That would save HUGE on disk space no?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">There is a function that does this. It's called 'compact'. When you have finished working on your session, compacting will delete any unused audio. The manual explains it better.

Hope this helps. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-11-2002, 02:38 AM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 858
Default Re: Cut and paste sections of tracks on edit page

Thanks all of you. As usual, the DUC comes through with the straight poop. I guess it was all those damn regions in the regions list that was throwing me off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orange sections in Edit window after quantizing Steve Marcotte Pro Tools 9 2 12-23-2011 02:56 AM
Visible tracks--pref to control edit page ICON interaction? bashville ICON & C|24 2 07-19-2011 08:10 PM
MIDI edit page.... Edit Window Scrolling ... Page Norm Mix MIDI 1 07-06-2009 08:31 PM
selecting tracks or sections of tracks drummerfreak33 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-24-2004 02:33 PM
can i cut and paste sections of two tracks (or more) at once? Joseph Anderson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-02-2002 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com