Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2013, 02:19 PM
McLuckie McLuckie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Bouncing Issues

Hi Everyone,

I really hope someone can help me out here. I am completely bamboozled by this problem. Thanks to everyone in advance that may have a solution.

I have just finished a remix in Protools. I have bounced it out analog outputs 1-2. Every track within my session is routed to outputs 1-2. When I am bouncing out I can hear the track perfectly.

However when I listen back to the bounced mix it's missing one thing, and that's my external reverb unit. I am using the adat in and out to route to my external reverb unit. And the aux input track that my reverb returns to, the output of that is routed to analog outputs 1-2.

Why when I am bouncing out is it not bouncing out my reverb even though I have routed the reverb channel to the same output as everything else and I can even hear the reverb whilst the session is bouncing out.

This is driving me mad.

I have tried routing everything to outputs 3-4 and the reverb bounces out. However I can't then hear my mix when it's bouncing out and the reverb then seems to be louder for some reason when listening back to the bounce.

I'm using a 002 rack.


Last edited by McLuckie; 03-17-2013 at 02:52 PM. Reason: Forgot to mention the interface I am using.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2013, 06:33 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,914
Default Re: Bouncing Issues

Hi. Welcome to the DUC.
Strange problem.
You shure you're selecting the right source in the bounce dialogbox?

Anyway, it ought to be easily circumvented by recording to a new track inside the session, and then exported in any format. Route every thing to a track and record it. Many people prefer it to bouncing. It has many advantages.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2013, 09:24 PM
McLuckie McLuckie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Question Re: Bouncing Issues

Hi Ben, thanks for your reply.

Yip, I'm 100% selecting the correct output in the bounce dialogue.

I've now sent all my tracks including the master to an unused stereo bus and recorded my mix to a new track. This has all my tracks including my external reverb unit.

I'm still very puzzled by this. If there are any other suggestions they're more than welcome. Or is there anyone from Avid who can look into this?

Makes no sense whatsoever as whatever you hear when bouncing out should be what's being bounced.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2013, 12:00 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,425
Default Re: Bouncing Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLuckie View Post
Hi Ben, thanks for your reply.

Yip, I'm 100% selecting the correct output in the bounce dialogue.

I've now sent all my tracks including the master to an unused stereo bus and recorded my mix to a new track. This has all my tracks including my external reverb unit.

I'm still very puzzled by this. If there are any other suggestions they're more than welcome. Or is there anyone from Avid who can look into this?

Makes no sense whatsoever as whatever you hear when bouncing out should be what's being bounced.

Thanks.
Hi,

When youre doing the bounce to disk can you see the outboard working? the meters showing input and output etc.

Try a new session with just 2 tracks! 1. audio. 2.Aux with reverb. No master track or mix bus etc just the 2 tracks. Try bouncing this test and see what happens.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.6 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2, Quad x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B Aphex 20Z. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:39 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,896
Default Re: Bouncing Issues

Is the verb unit setup in the I/O menu as a Hardware Insert? You may want to look at the PT Reference Guide at 'Hardware Inserts'.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:06 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,965
Default Re: Bouncing Issues

Do you have LLM turned on? If so, do the bounce with LLM unchecked.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:47 AM
McLuckie McLuckie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Bouncing Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Do you have LLM turned on? If so, do the bounce with LLM unchecked.

Cheers,
Hi Weed. Thanks very much for your help. It was the Low Latency Monitoring enabled.

Much appreciated.

Jamie
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2013, 07:51 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,965
Default Re: Bouncing Issues

Glad I could help.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bouncing issues pjmusiced Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 05-04-2012 01:13 AM
Bouncing Issues benplaysmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-31-2011 11:00 AM
Bouncing Issues...SERIOUSLY?!?!?! mforehand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-10-2007 01:59 PM
mp3 bouncing issues bfxp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-25-2006 03:32 AM
Digital Bouncing Issues Ang1970 General Discussion 6 04-20-2000 06:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com