Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2013, 06:44 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 841
Default VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Hey all,

Just wondering how you guys are getting on with VEPro and 11?

I guess I'm most interested in how the dynamic buffer size is working for you.

The most irritating thing I find with my setup is (and this is with delay comp enabled) that when you're in record on any MIDI track, then any time-based synth stuff (Omnisphere particularly) goes out by the size of the buffer (x2 if you have that enabled on VEPro)

Wondering if the dynamic buffer size thing (so that input buffer is small) helps a bit in this situation...
Does it also mean you could track (for instance Superior Drummer) without massive latency even when there are loads of other VI's running...?

Any other thoughts, good or bad...?
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools Ultimate 2020.5, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2013, 08:30 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

perfect except the Midi timing in PT 11 sucks - At first I thought it was VEP then I updated my Superior plugin it was same bad timing in VEP or Natively.
And the Midi timing in PT 11 floats too so it's totally useable for that.
Other then that all my Softube and Slate stuff works. I just have to bounce down all my Drum VI's in PT 10 and VEP5 works great for me in vHD 11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2013, 10:06 AM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
perfect except the Midi timing in PT 11 sucks - At first I thought it was VEP then I updated my Superior plugin it was same bad timing in VEP or Natively.
And the Midi timing in PT 11 floats too so it's totally useable for that.
Other then that all my Softube and Slate stuff works. I just have to bounce down all my Drum VI's in PT 10 and VEP5 works great for me in vHD 11.
not seein' that at all here...
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2013, 10:52 AM
Jon_Atkinson Jon_Atkinson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 841
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Hmmm, that's interesting...not loads of people complaining about midi issues, so that sounds system specific to me....

Anyone else got any insight?

Love to know how the dynamic buffer thing is working for people with VI's
__________________
Mac Westmere 6 core 3.3Ghz, 24GB RAM, OS 10.13.6, Protools Ultimate 2020.5, Antelope Orion 32, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, UAD Quad PCIe
AJA I/O Express
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2013, 02:13 AM
quantise quantise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Headley Down, UK
Posts: 176
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

I have most of my VI's instantiated in VEP5 with buffers set to 0. I haven't found that MIDI is drifting at all but I haven't stressed the system. I'm amazed at how seamless VEP5 is with PT11 once you have it set up.

Russ over at PTExpert did this show and tell video:
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...ly-adopte.html
__________________
PTHD 12.8.3 TB Native + Avid 8x8x8. Universal Audio Apollo 8p and Apollo 8 plus SF Apollo Quad used as outboard.
MacBook Pro 15-inch 2017. 4-Core 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7. OSX High Sierra 10.13.2
Avid S3 and Softube Console 1. Dynaudio BM5's.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2013, 05:43 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post
not seein' that at all here...
run any drum program along with a acoustic recorded drums tracks - you'll here the midi floating and swimming around - it sounds like there a chorus effect on the drums - nasty.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2013, 11:22 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,415
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
run any drum program along with a acoustic recorded drums tracks - you'll here the midi floating and swimming around - it sounds like there a chorus effect on the drums - nasty.
Are you sure it's the MIDI moving and not the acoustic recorded drum tracks? Not every drummer is like the 'Atomic Clock' Gene Hoglan! Try putting MIDI drums alongside anything Charlie Watt's plays - he's almost never playing on the beat; always ahead or behind and wanders all over even in the same tune.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2013, 11:34 AM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
run any drum program along with a acoustic recorded drums tracks - you'll here the midi floating and swimming around - it sounds like there a chorus effect on the drums - nasty.


what about a drum program against a click?
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2013, 12:05 PM
Chingy Chingy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 411
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Why don't you try recording in the MIDI as audio via an aux and see if the waveforms line up to the grid? I've tried this and they do float - but in every host, not just PT.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2013, 12:05 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,791
Default Re: VEPro and 11 Users... How's it working for you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykhal c View Post


what about a drum program against a click?
To go a step further, make sure the click is recorded to audio.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows HDN Users, How's It Going? tiMack Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 14 04-10-2012 12:04 AM
VEPro - Aria - Multi not working the way I think it should in PT9 AlainZagar Virtual Instruments 1 11-13-2011 08:00 AM
VEPro users.... ON HD 9 Jon_Atkinson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-09-2010 02:02 PM
HD Users, How's your Hard Drive/Track Count Doing? Hardnox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-28-2002 07:09 AM
HD Users, How's everything going? Hardnox Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-01-2002 01:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com