Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2011, 12:09 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default How do I write automation in PT to affect Reason?

I am making some of this new-fangled Wobble Bass Dubstep... and I want to write automation inside Pro Tools to guide the LFO on my Maelstrom (inside Reason).

Typically, I try to use Reason as a softsynth, and keep all of my programming inside PT. So do any Reason pros out there know how I can use a midi channel or enable automation on the LFO inside Pro Tools and not have to do it in Reason?

Or if you know the specifics, is there a controller I can add in PT that will affect Mod 1 or Mod 2 in the Maelstrom?

I will happily share my patch with you... its crazy dirty phat and the hard work is done.

Doc
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2011, 12:24 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: How do I write automation in PT to affect Reason?

Never mind....

I found this Propellerhead Midi Implementation Chart

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...YfmdVA&cad=rja

And then I looked up the controller data for Maelstrom Mod A 'Rate" = Controller 26

and Mod B 'rate" = Controller 110

Happy wobbling.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2011, 12:44 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: How do I write automation in PT to affect Reason?

Thank you! Of course, I knew this already! Pfh!
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2011, 10:29 AM
dreadkid08 dreadkid08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 17
Default Re: How do I write automation in PT to affect Reason?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
Never mind....

I found this Propellerhead Midi Implementation Chart

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...YfmdVA&cad=rja

And then I looked up the controller data for Maelstrom Mod A 'Rate" = Controller 26

and Mod B 'rate" = Controller 110

Happy wobbling.
A chart is kind of cumbersome I remember there is a way to be able to see what controller each knob is in reason but i forgot how to do it. Does anyone remember how to do that?
__________________
"I am the hope of the Universe. I am the answer to all living things who cry out for peace. I am protector of the innocent. I am the light in the darkness. I am truth... ally to good, nightmare to you!" -Goku, Dragon Ball Z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Pasword Protection affect read/write? spearson8 macOS 1 06-07-2011 11:03 AM
Write Automation to End?? How do I do it? stevevaus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-18-2006 07:35 PM
Automation Quirk...I didn't Write any Automation!! a2zproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-20-2005 10:34 AM
Automation edits affect all playlists on track dan98 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-19-2004 06:09 AM
OT: Can't write mixer automation in Reason b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-27-2003 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com