How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-11-2011, 07:06 PM

Default Using MIDI to record drums HELP

hey guys,

i'm fairly new to pro tools and recording in general, so i've been running into quite a few problems as you can imagine. right now, i'm trying to find the best way to record drums using the drum kits off my korg m50(which is run through a ua 25-ex interface) with the MIDI editor.

the whole idea i have is that i'm going to create a MIDI track for each instrument (snare, kick, cymbals, etc) that i can record as audio later to mix in post production.

Here's my problem: only the first MIDI track responds to the notes I write on the MIDI editor.

If anyone could lead me in the right direction here i'd really appreciate it! thanks!
Old 12-12-2011, 06:07 PM

Default Re: Using MIDI to record drums HELP

any help at all would be appreciated!
Old 12-12-2011, 07:30 PM

Hi, not sure about working with the Korg m50 but I do midi drums into PT10 using an Alesis midi drum kit, midi out into one midi track of PT, create a new Instrument track, insert my fav VSTi drum plugin, assign input from midi track, record/edit midi track (one track with all drums,cymbals included).
Finally I setup VSTi plugin to output all parts of kit to separate audio tracks and print them to wav in PT.

Hope this helps
Good luck
Mani
Old 12-12-2011, 08:15 PM

First off, as you're a beginner, I would recommend patience, and that you try to enjoy the learning process - which never ends...really.

Rather than looking to a forum for all the answers, your best bet is to find a comprehensive tutorial source like this.