Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:41 PM
Wyn Wyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca USA
Posts: 299
Default G4 Core Card/RAM Hardware Problem

Has anyone else experienced the following.

G4 Dual 1.2 MDD
Pro Tools 6.2 Accel (One HD core card, one HD Accel card, one HD proccess card). Does this make it an HD3? I dunno anymore.

Populating the MAC with more than two sticks of 512MB of RAM cashes the OS. When the Digidesign HD core card is removed, the computer works fine with all the RAM slots populated. When the Core card is installed the computer crashes with anything more than two RAM slots populated.

Called Digi and the tech said this is a known issue. In fact, he said that HIS own computer behaved the same way. Digi currently has no fix for this and cannot explain why it happens.

Has anyone tracked this down to a specific issue?

This computer has been through a complete authorized Apple service center diagnosis. The RAM has been replaced, checked and rechecked. The only time the computer has a problem with more than two RAM slots occupied is when the DIGI core card is installed in PCI slot 1.

We have not yet tried powering up the system with all the RAM slots occupied and something other than the Core card installed in PCI slot 1. Does anyone know if powering up a system with a process card installed but not connected to any other Digi hardware will damage the processor card?

Thanks for suggestions, comments, assistance.
__________________
Wyn Davis - Total Access Recording Studios
Redondo Beach, California
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2003, 08:07 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,261
Default Re: G4 Core Card/RAM Hardware Problem

Have you checked the video card??? There is an issue with the Nvidia cards loading the buss, yes its AGP, but it affects the PCI buss. Recommend a Radeon (ATI) 9000 MAC PRO edition.

Do a search for Nvidia here.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2003, 09:52 PM
Monte McGuire Monte McGuire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malden, MA USA
Posts: 292
Default Re: G4 Core Card/RAM Hardware Problem

I recently installed memory into a G4 MDD 1.25DP and it always seemed to boot up just fine (this is running both 10.3 and 10.2.8). My system is an HD core, an HD Accel and an HD Accel, so it's not quite the same as yours, but here are the configurations that worked for me:

stock Apple 256MB DIMM + 2 512M DIMMs, (16 chip variety, Crucial PC2700)
4 512MB DIMMs, (16 chip variety Crucial PC2700)

The 8/16 chip thing is important for memory for the G4 MDD. The Apple manual is quite clear that you cannot use DIMMs made with 512Mb devices. So, to install 512MB DIMMs, they must use 16 256Mb chips, not 8 512Mb chips. Maybe this is an issue...

I hope you can track this down and fix it!!

-monte-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird problem with core card DHG MUSIC macOS 8 03-16-2013 02:35 PM
Hackintosh PCI-X Core Card problem Blake Henderson macOS 8 06-29-2012 02:07 PM
Need opinions: Do I have Core card problem or computer problem? johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-11-2010 06:36 PM
hardware setup with 192, 96 and 888/24 on core card JPorter Post - Surround - Video 4 04-12-2008 07:55 PM
core audio problem - "hardware not connected" aquaman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-20-2005 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com