Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2001, 10:37 PM
Jarico Studios Jarico Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 12
Default Multiple 888\'s on 2 Mix Cards?

Is it possable with the y adapter cable to put 2 888/24's on one mix core and 2 888/24's on one mix farm card? If so how much is the cable?
__________________
Troy Oakley
Studio Consultant
Jarico Studios
t_oakley@jaricostudios.com
Studio-(815)961-6843
P.O. Box 391
Rockford, IL 61105
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2001, 10:50 PM
Oz-boy Oz-boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Down Under
Posts: 210
Default Re: Multiple 888\'s on 2 Mix Cards?

G'day,

You certainly can use a Y cable. We run 3 mix cards and have had sessions with 6 888/24's connected via a Y cable off each card. Works like a bree-eeze! [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Can't help you out on the cost side tho, as I don't know what was paid for the cables.. (definitely cheaper than a new DSP card tho! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Oz Boy (Junior)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2010, 03:49 PM
donatkaz donatkaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: arcadia, ca
Posts: 11
Default Re: Multiple 888's on 2 Mix Cards?

I got a "Y" cable for this purpose off craigslist in Los Angeles for $70.00
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:38 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,399
Default Re: Multiple 888's on 2 Mix Cards?

Y cables run from about $50-$75 on ebay. I just sold one for $50.00.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:53 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Multiple 888's on 2 Mix Cards?

I wonder how much they were back in 2001
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:00 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,399
Default Re: Multiple 888's on 2 Mix Cards?

The last time I remember seeing them in the digistore I think they were about $150.00.

Edit: Wow, necjamc, you doubled your post count since the last time I remember. Necjam's on fire!
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2010, 08:03 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Multiple 888's on 2 Mix Cards?

Ask Key, I guess I talk too much

I got a long way till I get up to 7 or 8 thousand. I have goals
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Sound Cards txrx Windows 3 09-27-2012 12:23 PM
Hardware setup issue for multiple 888's. donatkaz Tips & Tricks 21 08-21-2010 08:06 AM
Multiple Video Cards? BradLyons Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 05-13-2009 10:42 AM
Multiple AM3 cards? Paul Southworth Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 08-29-2002 09:16 PM
3 cards, 2 888's, and a G4/667 Eric Amdahl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-16-2001 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com