Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2010, 06:08 AM
neuromillion neuromillion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 75
Default I have to enable onboard audio for 8.0.4 to start !?

Since upgrading to 8.0.4 (+cs2), i have to enable my integrated soundcard (in the BIOS) in order to be able to use Pro Tools. Otherwise i get a "Pro Tools is unable to reacquire the hardware because it is in use by another application (...)" message when i launch Pro Tools.
With the 8.0.4 driver, 002r is the default audio peripheral for windows. I changed that to "AC Realtech something" in the windows (XP) control panel and PT would launch. But I thought we were supposed to disable onboard audio ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:23 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,793
Default Re: I have to enable onboard audio for 8.0.4 to start !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuromillion View Post
Since upgrading to 8.0.4 (+cs2), i have to enable my integrated soundcard (in the BIOS) in order to be able to use Pro Tools. Otherwise i get a "Pro Tools is unable to reacquire the hardware because it is in use by another application (...)" message when i launch Pro Tools.
With the 8.0.4 driver, 002r is the default audio peripheral for windows. I changed that to "AC Realtech something" in the windows (XP) control panel and PT would launch. But I thought we were supposed to disable onboard audio ?
Kind of odd. I know w the eleven rack you must have it on but not the 002. Are you disabling it in the bios or device manager? Or somewhere else?
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2010, 08:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,959
Default Re: I have to enable onboard audio for 8.0.4 to start !?

FWIW, I have always had my onboard audio enabled. but I have also preferred to have all non-Pro Tools audio handled by the onboard(it avoids any hardware conflicts). Whenever I want to hear other sounds, I select my motherboard optical output on a Presonus Central Station. Back a few years, I would run the analog out from the motherboard to the AUX/ALT inputs of my 002/003 and push a button. The optical path sounds way better though.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2010, 06:16 AM
neuromillion neuromillion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 75
Default Re: I have to enable onboard audio for 8.0.4 to start !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
Kind of odd. I know w the eleven rack you must have it on but not the 002. Are you disabling it in the bios or device manager? Or somewhere else?
Cheers guitardom, you pointed me in the right direction.
For some reason, the ELeven rack driver was installed during the 8.0.4 update.
i uninstalled it and disabled the onboard audio in the bios, and voilà, it now works as it did before the update.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBOX2PRO + Onboard Audio ozzlvlosis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-27-2012 09:04 AM
MBox Micro vs onboard audio. sunburst79 General Discussion 3 12-06-2010 03:02 PM
Windows laptop onboard audio? mike_mccue Pro Tools 9 5 11-06-2010 12:18 PM
Disable Onboard Audio? zombie69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-04-2006 06:08 PM
M-Powered work with onboard audio output ? wangell Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 01-11-2006 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com