Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:07 PM
540s 540s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 50
Default Wide screen monitors & pro tools?



I've had my system running for about a month now (tyan quad) with a 19" & a 17" monitor I hade laying around but am finally getting ready to purchase some new monitors for this pc. I was initially planning on getting two 20" monitors but the two 22" widescreens I just looked at will fit perfect over my desk.


Has anyone had any issues with widescreens & PT? or maybe some recommendations?

Thanks!
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:49 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,848
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

Widescreens work great with PT. I don't think I would purchase non-widescreens ever again. I like Samsung and Viewsonic brands but have had good experiences with Dell, Gateway, HP brands. Make sure you get ones that support both Analog VGA and Digital DVI inputs. If you get one that supports 1080P, you'll be ready for the highest quality HDTV on those monitors too. I normally avoid monitors with built-in speakers and USB ports as I don't seem to take advantage of those.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2007, 08:58 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,687
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

IMHO, the more monitor "real estate" you can get the better! I'm running two 19" Proviews on a Matrox P650, and am SERIOUSLY considering dropping the 90 bucks for their triple head upgrade, and stick a 22" widescreen in the middle (one for edit, one for a video window or plugins, one for mix).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2007, 07:29 PM
VanDerGraf VanDerGraf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Anytown, USA
Posts: 411
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

I'm using a 22" Viewsonic, however, one of these would be great. I agree that the more screen space you have, the better with PT.


Van
__________________
vandergraf.net

"All the truth in the world adds up to one big lie" :: Bob Dylan
¯
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2007, 10:09 PM
Keeron Keeron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 74
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

Joe...

Widescreen monitors work great in PT.

Just make sure that your video cards can display their native resolutions.
I love Nvidia video cards because their software for managing your displays/desktops is very tweakable.

I'm currently running a dual setup with a Samsung 205BW 20" at 1680X1050 native along with an old NEC at 1600X1200 on an old Geforce 5200 and it works fine.

I also own a 17" LG L1751S which I find is a better display but not widescreen.

Size is not as important as resolution.
You can have a 22" monitor, but if its native resolution is 1200X900...you're not seeing as many tracks as with a 20" at 1900X1200. Again...make sure you card can handle this.

Check out LG if you can...you'll be surprised.
Cheers,
KT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2007, 02:37 AM
Gons Deejay Gons Deejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 91
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

I Have to tell my opinion!!! of course!


I Work with Two Apple Cinemas 20". Definitively! the resolution! with 1680 x 1050. are very nice to work with Pro Tools and Second Application at the same time! Like ReWire! and no longer are expensive!



Cheers!
__________________
DJ Since 1984, and Producer Since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2007, 09:13 AM
MrJoshua MrJoshua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 267
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

I have two 22" widescreen monitors at 1680x1050, and I won't go back to "normal" 4:3 monitors anytime soon.
__________________
Joshua L.
Decatur, AL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2007, 11:09 AM
540s 540s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

I'm going to take the plunge this weekend.

I'm looking through newegg at 22's... Of course the 24's are tempting but that extra 2" just about doubles the price!

It looks like there are quite a few options for getting two 22's right around $500 for the pair. One of my main concerns is the size of the frame on the sides. I'd like that as thin as possible. One of the issues I have now is the second small monitor I have hooked up has a very wide border & it's distracting.


One of the monitors I have been using... the 19" is an LG thats a few months old & other than size I'm very happy with it so I'll look through those first. I thought about just geting a second LG 19" but this monitor technocally "belongs" to the pc I use for controlling my Line 6 stuff.




My video cars is an ASUS Extreme n6600 silencer so I should be in good shape with the resoluton options.


Thanks to all who replied!.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:07 PM
Greg B Greg B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 326
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

Sorry I'm in here late, but just want to offer a caution. My Acer AL2416W is only sharp enough to be satisfying at 1900x1200 (its native resolution) using the DVI connection (analog didn't cut it). Every other resolution was fuzzy or inappropriately proportioned. I don't care for such a tiny screen (old eyes), but I've gotten used to it. Seeing 800x600 these days make me freak out...

I also have a problem where the monitor loses sync during boot and tells me "no signal". I reboot until it syncs up. It's sporadic. I know it's a graphics card question, but soon I'll get a replacement. I grow weary of working ON this stuff instead of WITH it.
__________________
002R Win7, no PT
GigaByte 970A-UD3/AMD FX(tm)-8120
8GB DIMM DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6570
2 WDC WD10EURX-63FH1Y0
www.soundchasm.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:42 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,828
Default Re: Wide screen monitors & pro tools?

These are on sale right now at Best Buy for 179.99. Whatdayathink? Good/bad?
22" widescreens?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does pro tools 9 support multi touch screen monitors? derek_tgm Windows 1 06-14-2011 05:59 PM
.mov not wide screen when imported dubaifox Post - Surround - Video 3 10-07-2007 07:58 AM
19" Wide Screen hotstuff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-19-2006 03:21 PM
O.T. Anyone using touch screen LCD monitors 4 PT? mac goD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-14-2005 02:03 PM
Way Off Topic Wide Screen TVs For Recomendations finalcut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-05-2004 04:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com