Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2018, 04:40 PM
MusicMadness MusicMadness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 75
Default Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Hi guys, can I use transient markers from Beat Detective to create a new MIDI track basing on them? I found several topics from 10 years ago when people were requesting for this feature but I couldn't find any info about current state - have they implemented it already? Or maybe you have some easy way to work around this?
__________________
PT HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 2013, Digidesign Command 8, Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2018, 05:12 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,194
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

What exactly do you want to do? Do you want to create MIDI from a drum multitrack or from a loop. I assume you are talking about rhythmic instruments because this wouldn't work with melodies.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2018, 05:36 PM
MusicMadness MusicMadness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 75
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

I want to create midi track based on a drum track and then use it to trigger gate plugin.
__________________
PT HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 2013, Digidesign Command 8, Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2018, 07:01 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,194
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Yes yes but... loop or multitrack?

If you want to trigger a gate why don't you simply use a pre fader send?
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2018, 07:23 PM
MusicMadness MusicMadness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 75
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
Yes yes but... loop or multitrack?
Multitrack

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
If you want to trigger a gate why don't you simply use a pre fader send?
That's what I usually do and this time I wanted to try it another way. I have a lot of dynamic changes between different parts of song and instead of playing with gate settings I wanted to make additional track with very short and dynamically constant sample to trigger gate. That would be also useful for adding drum samples in future. If I need to go through all the track to correct timing why not to make midi from these transients anyway? I was expecting to see such an option in Groove Template Extraction -> Extract window but there's no way to save it as MIDI. Any Ideas?
__________________
PT HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 2013, Digidesign Command 8, Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2018, 12:59 PM
beefpitas beefpitas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Try the Steven Massey plugins drt or “dirt”
It creates a midi file you can use to trigger other sounds or samples.
It’s pretty intuitive and easy to use.
There was a free version with limited functionality and a paid version which does more.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2018, 01:26 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,611
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Le Sound Groove Extractor might work

or download the trial of FL Studio, load your audio into Edison and dump to piano roll. Export MIDI and pull into Pro Tools. You can Rewire FL into Pro Tools too.

or tab to transients and do it manually.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2018, 06:48 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,194
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Melodyne
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2018, 07:58 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Using Beat Detective to create a MIDI track

Drumagog
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat detective from midi track - no click- help, please? jeremyroberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-10-2010 08:39 AM
Best way to Beat Detective from a midi track? jeremyroberts Pro Tools 9 0 12-10-2010 06:43 AM
Beat Detective Midi Track Generation caustic Tips & Tricks 7 01-28-2008 09:00 AM
Beat Detective (MIDI) and Tempo Track GreyLion Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-04-2006 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com