Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2017, 11:12 PM
CincoBoa CincoBoa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 4
Default how can i do for cda

I have a one of a kind track that I can't replace that was in .mp3 format. But now it's in .cda and I can't for the life of me figure out how to get it converted back. It's the standard 44 bytes that every .cda shows as, it's in my file explorer but I can't find a file converter that will recognize it. It won't play with iTunes or Windows Media but it will play with VLC Media Player. If there are any suggestions I'd love to hear them.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2017, 12:18 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,948
Default Re: how can i do for cda

I don't know what a .cda file is, never heard of it, but if its size is 44 bytes and you can play it, it must be because it points to megabytes of data that exists somewhere. There must be software that can manage this.

Anyway, my first thought is that if you can play it in VLC, then you can route it to, and record it in another application. Audio Hijack, Soundflower, Jack, or a new discovery for me: Rogue Amoeba Loopback. All innovative audio routing apps (for Mac at least).

IHTH.

(Added: Have you tried re-saving it in VLC?)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2017, 08:39 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,608
Default Re: how can i do for cda

Try to rip it using VLC:

https://www.aimersoft.com/rip-dvd/vlc-rip-cd.html
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2017, 10:41 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,083
Default Re: how can i do for cda

That's a CD Audio file. Just rip it with Windows Media Player or VLC or try to drag and drop it to the PT timeline (on Windows you need to NOT be using "Run As Administrator" for PT to allow that).
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2017, 06:18 PM
CincoBoa CincoBoa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 4
Default Re: how can i do for cda

thanks for responses, I wanna know anybody tried Wonderfox? I found a page of it, anybody has even seen it?Two Valid and Effective Methods to Convert CDA to MP3??? thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com