Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2014, 08:36 AM
mike@wired.uk.com mike@wired.uk.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: tq
Posts: 1
Default 002 Rack install issues MAC OS 10.9.3

We wish to use our 002 Audio Interface but are having problems installing the damm thing.

We are running OS 10.9.3 but as a windows user I am still learning about how macs work (and how they don't too). Just want to use it as a simple volume control as we're selling gear at the moment and that is all we have left.

Steps taken so far:

installed all available drivers online whilst rack is connected using firewire.
tried numerous different firewire cables and ports yet still no connection shown
the only light (LED) that is lit, is the Mute button and it is red.

Can anyone shed any light on this? Hopefully this isn't too confusing for anyone reading and any views/advice would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:45 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,646
Default Re: 002 Rack install issues MAC OS 10.9.3

Question #1, will the MUTE lite go out if you hit the button(if not, then you probably have a bad power supply or harness)? #2, I don't think the 002 is compatible with your OS(but I could be wrong). DIGI002 lost support over a year ago. What version of Pro Tools are you hoping to run(your OS requires PT11, which does not support 002, although it MAY work)? If you are not going to run Pro Tools(or if you are going to use PT11) then you should dump the old 002 and get something newer
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2014, 02:11 PM
beefpitas beefpitas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Welcome to the Machine

Welcome to the nightmare of digidesign hardware and Mac. One would think they could figure this out, but they still haven't, at least in a plug n play way. What little knowledge I can pass to you is that if you are using Protools it complicates things. But if for example you only want to use your 002 with Logic or iTunes, you might have an easier time.

There are some quirky things about Mac audio preferences and the digi hardware, even after you get the correct versions. Mac will default to the previous device for core audio, which sometimes causes problems. especially if protools is using the hardware, because protools doesn't like to share the hardware. you also can not use the 002 in an aggregate device, i think the 003 you can, but don't quote me. Also, you should actually select the 002 in your audio preferences first, then open iTunes or something that will cause the core audio manager to auto launch. i think if you launch the manager first, then mac will think its unavailable or something. I want to say that has changed over different versions, as to how to select and launch the manager app.
The problem with the Digidesign/Avid drivers is that they share some core libraries with ProTools, and the versions have to work together. For instance, You can not install the 002 core audio manager version 9, and run protools 8. i had 8 working but the core audio manager didn't really work with my mac version. even though protools wasn't really qualified for my os, it still worked. but the drivers for 9 cause protools not to launch.
And unlike every other hardware manufacturer, they don't issue certain drivers for certain Mac OS version, which would make it all to easy. and likewise update the legacy versions of protools to run on the newer version of mac, like many other software manufacturers do. (i'm just saying).
But if you are running protools and you want to use the 002 with core audio manager, then good luck. An alternate solution would be to consider installing a previous Mac OS, but good luck with that since the idiots at the Mac headquarters have also locked your mac hardware from installing previous versions. you will have to install it in a legacy Mac machine on your hard drive and then put the HD back in your machine.
now, aren't you glad you spent several thousands of dollars with mac and digidesign?

update: I can connect to the 002r via 10.7.5 and the avid core audio manager version 10.3.9.462, works great. same computer booting an external drive with 10.8.5 and avid core audio manager won't connect and says: "avid HW: unsupported device, status: not connected (hw not found)" of course rebooting the 002r has no effect. result is always the same. installed avid core audio manager version 9r3 (002_003_driversv90_r3_73509) and it works for 10.8.5.
same hardware, same software, different OS, and very different results.

Last edited by beefpitas; 08-04-2014 at 02:14 PM. Reason: add on
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2014, 11:02 PM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 244
Default Re: 002 Rack install issues MAC OS 10.9.3

I'm sure you've heard this before, but Not Supported is not the same as Incompatible. I'm running an old but much beloved 002R on 10.9.2 and PT 11.2.1. Works great.

I'm sure you already know that if the 1394 light doesn't go on when the Mac finishes its power up cycle your problem probably isn't software related. Early on I had some issues with firewire cables--the present setup uses a 400 to 800 cable (the 002R is 400 and the Mac only has 800 ports) and I went through several before I found one that worked reliably.

Every time I update PT and install the new set of drivers I clench a little, but so far, so good. I'm wondering if Avid updates the public drivers with as much care as the driver package that comes with each PT update…

If I could make one suggestion it would be to make certain you install the drivers from the latest PT update only--but that assumes you're a PT user, and perhaps you aren't.

It's actually a very decent volume control with the Black Lion mod.

Best of luck,
Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 19.5.1, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 RME FF800/TCO, Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2014, 09:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,646
Default Re: 002 Rack install issues MAC OS 10.9.3

A few more details to consider:
002 and 003 will NOT aggregate(just the way they are built, I suppose)

If the MUTE button will not turn off(red LED off), that IS a sign of power supply or harness issue(which means its not working at all)

002R under PT11 can indeed work as an interface. the 002 MIXER version, will also pass audio, but none of the control surface functions are likely to work.

A big +1 to the BLA mods, however, for the price of the mod, you can buy a new interface that will work fine(at this point, I would not invest any money into a 002 or 003 due to their age).

If you can describe your needs(as in how many IO) and what hookups you have available(FW, Thunderbolt, PCIe slot.....) and your budget, we can give you some advice on some options to replace the 002(and I would as its 10 years old and way past its prime)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.3.1 install issues? joeldadrummer macOS 8 03-30-2013 07:33 PM
New 003 Rack/PT 7.3 Install Won't Recognize Rack DaveYaffe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-21-2010 01:44 PM
8.0.4 install - issues ? Mark Waters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-08-2010 10:54 AM
8.0.1 install issues velvettone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-17-2010 06:27 AM
Driver Install issues Red Fox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-15-2001 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com