Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2012, 06:00 PM
gregonbass gregonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mount Rainier Md. USA
Posts: 9
Thumbs up New to Pro Tools

nevermind

Last edited by gregonbass; 09-26-2012 at 08:53 AM. Reason: trading up to pt9 w/comp toolkit no answers here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2012, 06:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,053
Default Re: New to Pro Tools

It might be useful to know what you find the limitation of your current software is, what you are trying to (solo vocals? acoustic guitar? electric guitar/bass? whole band? (what instruments), symphony orchestra?) and what interfaces etc. you own or whether you need to/plan on buying another interface -- that way people here can better help you make a decision, otherwise we are all just guessing. But as a guess the most logical upgrade is likely to Pro Tools 10. However I doubt that "SE 8 something" will qualify for an upgrade/crossgrade and you'll either have to buy a full retail packed software for around $699 or you need to buy a bundled interface that comes with the software like an Mbox Pro or Eleven Rack. If you are a guitarist, seriously look at the Eleven Rack.

Pro Tools 10 in the Avid Store: http://shop.avid.com/store/product.d...07527273768544

Upgrade options in the Avid Store (I doubt your software quantifies): http://shop.avid.com/store/product.d...07527273741024

The Pro Tools HD family products require proprietary high-end hardware interfaces and you can get into those starting around $5k-$10k, my usual axiom is if you don't know you need Pro Tools HD, you don't.

Avid often announces new product around the AES conference, which is later October. Who knows if they will announce new stuff there this year. If you don't need to buy in a hurry I might wait.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2012, 07:07 PM
gregonbass gregonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mount Rainier Md. USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: New to Pro Tools

nevermind

Last edited by gregonbass; 09-26-2012 at 08:54 AM. Reason: no more info required got no informative responses
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2012, 03:04 AM
Blues_N_Cues Blues_N_Cues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Glasgow,Ky.
Posts: 6
Default Re: New to Pro Tools

ok so I'll have a go here as not to waste a thread.

I just bought a c400 w/ SE(hasn't arrived yet) and I'm wondering if I can do my basic tracks on SE @ home & export to pro tools 9 or 10 @ the big studio for final tracks,mix,& mastering.

my current DAW can do this for all subsequent versions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2012, 06:24 AM
Blues_N_Cues Blues_N_Cues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Glasgow,Ky.
Posts: 6
Default Re: New to Pro Tools

thanks.
yes,I'm very familiar w/ the recording process and have done it for years but my main reason for doing the scratch tracks in the home studio was saving some $$$ as I'm a solo artist.

you did answer my question though and something I didn't think about as to recording full length on every track for the transfer sync-up.

I still think in 2" tape lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com