Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2011, 12:10 PM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Setting up outputs--listening through speakers

One of those many things that must be too complicated for me to understand: How can I route an output to my computer speakers for editing purposes? I'm using a master fader and have no problems monitoring through the Fasttrack, but surely there is a way...
Using M-Audio FAsttrack and PT M-Powered Essential.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2011, 12:30 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Setting up outputs--listening through speakers

Outputs 1/2 in ProTools will duplicate the signal on the headphone output with the RCA outputs on the back. Connect your speakers there.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2011, 03:19 PM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Re: Setting up outputs--listening through speakers

So it's not possible to route an output to the computer sound card?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2011, 06:07 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Setting up outputs--listening through speakers

No. In fact you should disable the computer's sound card. It is one of the recommendations by Avid. If you have regular computer speakers, just connect them to the Fast Track's RCA outputs on the back with an adapter like this:
http://mobile.buy.com/ibuy/Product.a...&sku=213271840
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting outputs for an NRV-10 mrbelv Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-13-2008 09:19 AM
Setting up for multiple outputs Liam M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 06-26-2008 03:36 AM
Hum at XMON´s mini speakers outputs i.celma ICON & C|24 3 12-01-2006 03:27 PM
Listening to a track through computer speakers???? messer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-02-2005 01:46 PM
Listening Mac sounds from ADAT outputs? Impala 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-04-2002 12:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com