Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2003, 05:08 PM
aprice88 aprice88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 7
Default Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

So i've recorded something in protools on my 001. i "bounced" it as a .wav file, but the volume is extremely low. im obviously no pro... what did i do wrong? please help!

thanks,
aaron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2003, 06:07 PM
basschair basschair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Stockton, Ca.
Posts: 958
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

How is the level compared to your original multitrack project? Also, how are you playing it back?
__________________
XP2500+, a7v8x-x, 60/80G drives, pc2700 Micron, SIIG 3 port, win xp home, Radeon video, ADS/WD 120 FW drive, 002r PTLE 6.1.1 stable as can be.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2003, 10:08 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

Setup up a master fader and push the levels of your tracks up to get the master fader level to close to 0. If that's not enough then throw a limiter on it. Pref a L1 or maxim.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:07 AM
aprice88 aprice88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 7
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

I so wish i knew about how to use pro tools and master faders and all that...

listening to it with the headphones volume ALL THE WAY UP it sounds fine on pro tools. but, the sounds levels on the tracks are fine, not really quiet. how do i playback louder, and how to i bounce to a normal level?

any and all help GREATLY appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:16 AM
doylemusic doylemusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 812
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

Quote:
Originally posted by aprice88:
I so wish i knew about how to use pro tools and master faders and all that...

listening to it with the headphones volume ALL THE WAY UP it sounds fine on pro tools. but, the sounds levels on the tracks are fine, not really quiet. how do i playback louder, and how to i bounce to a normal level?

any and all help GREATLY appreciated.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Mr_Seven said it all....

You need to add a Master track (just like you added the other tracks).

Then you need to add a plugin on the master track such as the L1 or maxim (if you have any of those) and increase the volume by increasing the parameters on that plug in. They basically boost the signal/volume (and in this case the signal of the entire mix).
You can probably do the same thing with the limiter plugin that comes stock.

Good luck!
__________________
PT Ultimate 2020.3.0
1 HDX Card
Lynx Aurora 16 (2)
Windows 10 Pro 1909
ASUS X-99 II
Intel i7
32GB RAM
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
www.doylemusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:19 AM
basschair basschair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Stockton, Ca.
Posts: 958
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

Don't beat yourself up about it, we all started somewhere [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

You'll need to create a new track. In the file menu, you'll have the add a track option, and you'll need to create a master track. Then nudge up the volume on the master track in the mix window (the window that looks like a mixing board). Do you have any plug-ins other than the digirack ones?
__________________
XP2500+, a7v8x-x, 60/80G drives, pc2700 Micron, SIIG 3 port, win xp home, Radeon video, ADS/WD 120 FW drive, 002r PTLE 6.1.1 stable as can be.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:22 AM
aprice88 aprice88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 7
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

don;t i need to somehow feed these tracks into the master track? this is where i start to really screw things up...

is this the same thing that you would do to run an effect on 1 channel to use on other tracks, so you don't have, say, reverb running on every track but just on 1 master track that you use to control the others? and this uses less system resources i guess?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:24 AM
aprice88 aprice88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 7
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

basschair - looks like i was writing while you were too. currently i don't have any plug-ins other then the stock ones. and that does lead me to - should i upgrade some? are there any good free (or not $100 +) ones?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2003, 10:55 AM
aprice88 aprice88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 7
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

still having the volume issues. its driving me crazy. how do i assign all of the tracks to a master track and then boost the volume? also, when i "bounce" the track how do i tell it to use the right track (with the right volumes) as the source?

help! :-/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2003, 12:16 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Poor sound levels on my 001 bounced wav\'s - please help

The master fader controls an output, so you don't need to assign the audio tracks to the fader, you need to assign the master fader. You do this by setting it to the same output as your audio tracks. Then control click the master fader volume indicator (at the bottom of the channel strip) until it shows a peak indicator. Click on the indicator to reset it and play through the tune once. The indicator now shows the peak level of the bounce, so you can boost either your master fader, or your mix to correct the low level. If your peak level is pretty hot but not clipping, and your mix still feels weak volume-wise, add a comp to the master fader. The plugs on a master fader are post fader, it is therefore very important to make sure that you don't clip the fader before adding plugs. I hope this helps some. A little tip, if you can't boost the master fader enough to get a hot level, choose the ALL mix group and boost everything while preserving the mix, then ungroup and alt-click the master fader to reset its postion independently from the mix and check for peaks all over again.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cinema Chains - sadness at poor levels MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 63 08-15-2012 04:40 PM
How to batch convert 32 bit wav's to 24 bit wav's? tlester Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-06-2007 12:05 PM
mix levels low when bounced to disk wizdoom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-01-2005 05:06 PM
Possible reasons for poor MBox Source levels RichAucoin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-03-2005 02:37 PM
SoundJam won't "see" wav's bounced in PT LE 5.1? RobbaDobba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-20-2002 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com