Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2005, 07:43 AM
Allbaldo Allbaldo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 285
Default Setting up a Big Ben..for beginners..Help!

A friend of mine just bought a Big Ben, and lent it to me to figure out. I'm trying to clock a rig with 3 888/24's, and have tried several setups, with no luck getting it to work. I've read the manual, and it wasn't much help, as I'm a novice when it comes to clocking stuff. Anyone know how to set this up? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:16 PM
DRR DRR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Setting up a Big Ben..for beginners..Help!

I have a Mix 3 system with a aardvark clock. I could never get it to work with the 888's. What I had to do was use a 882 because it would resolve to being the slave. I then looped from the 882 to the 888's and placed a terminator on the out of the last 888. works great. The 888's will only receive superclock 256 so that is what I'm feeding the 882, from the aardvark. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:15 PM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 467
Default Re: Setting up a Big Ben..for beginners..Help!

Plug the output from W/C 5 or 6 (out) on the big ben into the superclock slave clock sync of the first 888. loop the output from the first 888 to the input of the 2nd 888 and that one's out to the in on the last 888. (The slace clk input & output s are at the bottom r/hand corner - under the AC input)

1) Now setup the Big Ben to INT clock source (Press the setup key [down-key] until the display says INT in the top right corner).
2) while the LED in the middle of the buttons are lit, press the NEXT [RIGHT] button to proceed to sample rate - set it to your session rate with the up/down buttons
3) pressing the NEXT [RIGHT] button again will take you to the optical input setting - leave or set it to spdif using the up/down keyes.
4) pressing the NEXT [RIGHT] button again will take you to the Pull UP/DOWN SETTING set it to NONE.
5) IMPORTANT IF CONNECTED 88 TO WC5 OUT ressing the NEXT [RIGHT] button again will take you to the WC OUT 5 wordclock rate setting. MAKE SURE IT IS AT THE TOP - [fs x 256]
6) IMPORTANT IF CONNECTED 88 TO WC6 OUT ressing the NEXT [RIGHT] button again will take you to the WC OUT 6 wordclock rate setting. MAKE SURE IT IS AT THE TOP - [fs x 256]

In Protools / SETUPS MENU/HARDWARE SETUP:

Select the interfaces one by one and make sure they are set to "INTERNAL" AT THE CLOCK SOURCE SETTING. All the interfaces should show SYNC MODE and then SLAVE in the top right of their displays.

Good luck!
Stef
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.14.5 - 64 gb Ram - Pro Tools 2020.9 Ultimate in 5 suites - MTRX Studio -S6 26-5-D - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 2020.8, AJA Kona 3g) Pro Protools 2020.9 Vanilla in 9 x Edit suites Mac 6,1
Mediacomposer 2020.8 on AJA Kona 3g / XT I/O x 3 suites.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:16 PM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 467
Default Re: Setting up a Big Ben..for beginners..Help!

last sentence should read top left of their displays!
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.14.5 - 64 gb Ram - Pro Tools 2020.9 Ultimate in 5 suites - MTRX Studio -S6 26-5-D - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 2020.8, AJA Kona 3g) Pro Protools 2020.9 Vanilla in 9 x Edit suites Mac 6,1
Mediacomposer 2020.8 on AJA Kona 3g / XT I/O x 3 suites.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beginners Question nellupmas Pro Tools 10 5 10-12-2012 09:17 AM
Tutorials For Mac Beginners [HD] Nourddine Khiti General Discussion 0 02-02-2012 01:28 PM
Mastering For Beginners RussUK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-10-2009 08:11 AM
Beginners problem with le tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-28-2005 02:34 AM
Dominated by Beginners? gh10606 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 45 01-10-2001 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com