Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2018, 06:51 PM
tim.huggiers's Avatar
tim.huggiers tim.huggiers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: CA
Posts: 36
Default Parasite (noise in monitors issue)

The problem is coming from the cable. I have 2 JBL lSR 305 speakers. If I plug them with my PC I hear the parasite sound. But once I unplug them the parasite sound disappear, does this mean I have to change the 1/8 Y cable? It doesn't make sense I bought them 2 months ago. What am I doing wrong?

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:50 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: Parasite

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim.huggiers View Post
...If I plug them with my PC I hear the parasite sound...
Connect the PC to an audio I/O interface (via thunderbolt or USB etc). https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/au...de/#definition Then, patch 2 quality balanced cables from the balanced +4db audio I/O interface L/R outs to the speaker balanced ins.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X Hex-Core @ 3.9 GHz / 32GB / 3 int Samsung SSDs / 3 monitors / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 Quad-Core / 8GB / int Samsung SSD / PT 9.0.3 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2018, 09:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,795
Default Re: Parasite (noise in monitors issue)

Indeed...the mini TRS output of most computers is garbage, so plugging that into any studio monitor is likely to produce louder garbage. Using a real interface and balanced cables is going to give the best results
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
little noise on my monitors HerrKrouppon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-28-2009 10:50 AM
Noise in my monitors...Question. ChristopherG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-25-2008 10:12 PM
Noise from monitors LucasM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-26-2007 10:17 AM
computer noise through monitors??? iamnightfall 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-24-2007 06:56 PM
Noise from the monitors? jmsx521 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-19-2003 07:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com