Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-10-2018, 04:39 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,954
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
This is true I know, but I get a few bands that just don’t have the money to get their tracks mastered professionally. I’ve been using Slate FG-X for ages just on the master bus to add level etc, but thought I might invest in a few semi pro mastering plugins


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If there is a demo of Ozone8 then try and see. It is using quite a lot of CPU but also it seem to be spread out differently on mac and win as i have seen that in studios here where some use it as you want to, do some mastering for pro bono bands e tc andfor that purpose it is a good application for sure.

I would look for a demo and try it out and see if the computer holds up andmost important, that you can live with the performance of your computer.

I mean it is a popular app and it works on most computers. It would be great to try and see before buying though and if there isn't any demos PM me and maybe we can lend you our license for a few weeks so you can try it out. We have only used O8 twice and got good results but as i wrote we don't do mastering and have very limited knowledge and interest and no time to learn how to right
now

Let me know.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-10-2018, 05:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,215
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

I also have FG-X but never was able to make it match what I got with SSL bus compressor(Waves), Slate VTM and a pair of Waves L2's. Ozone is getting a lot of use here
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-11-2018, 01:26 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,944
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Thanks southsidemusic for the kind offer. Just checked and izotope do a 10 day trial period so I think I’ll give it a go.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-11-2018, 04:54 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
If there is a demo of Ozone8 then try and see. It is using quite a lot of CPU but also it seem to be spread out differently on mac and win as i have seen that in studios here where some use it as you want to, do some mastering for pro bono bands e tc andfor that purpose it is a good application for sure.

I would look for a demo and try it out and see if the computer holds up andmost important, that you can live with the performance of your computer.

I mean it is a popular app and it works on most computers. It would be great to try and see before buying though and if there isn't any demos PM me and maybe we can lend you our license for a few weeks so you can try it out. We have only used O8 twice and got good results but as i wrote we don't do mastering and have very limited knowledge and interest and no time to learn how to right
now

Let me know.

izotope always has 14 day fully functional demos as far as I know.
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2018.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Sierra 10.12.6, Digital Performer 9.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will PT 11 allow use of Ozone 5? mspin RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 4 01-03-2015 12:41 PM
Ez mix 2 or Ozone 5? jacub General Discussion 3 05-06-2014 07:14 PM
Update for Ozone 5 and Ozone 5 Advanced gives Pro Tools 10 1 11-27-2011 09:02 PM
Ozone 4 Anangu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-05-2009 09:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com