Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2018, 12:00 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,820
Default Ozone thoughts??

What are peopleís thoughts on this plugin?

Iíve heard itís a CPU hog and as Iím on pro tools 10 HD can only access 4 gig of RAM.

Do people use the single plugin elements in pro tools or are people using the ozone app to master in? Which way has the least hit on the CPU usage

I think Iíd like to invest in some kind of mastering suite, so any advice would be appreciated running this in pro tools 10 HD


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 12:37 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,506
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

I think its great for mastering. Yes it is a hog, plus it has over 5000 samples of latency(and its not a plugin I would use on a individual track). The new version 8 does a damn good job really quickly and its rapidly replacing my usual chain If you are worried about horsepower, its another good reason to leave "mastering" separated from mixing

My thoughts on the 4GB Ram limitation: I understand on paper, that anything above 4GB(actually around 3.4GB) is wasted on a 32 bit app(like Pro Tools 10), if you are running a 64 bit OS, you may still benefit from extra RAM. My empirical evidence relates to my own move from XP(32 bit) to Windows 7 64 bit. On that computer(i7 quad/X58 mobo/6GB triple-channel RAM) with no hardware change at all(from XP to Win 7), my Dverb 2 test count went from 320(on XP) to 500(on Win7 x64). Just food for thought...
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2018, 12:55 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Thanks Albee. Iíve never done the DVerb test Iíd actually be interested what my Mac Pro can do. Iím running 32GB of RAM. Is it just loading as many tracks with DVerb as possible?

Back to Ozone, I take it Iíd be better off using the ozone app to master tracks in than mastering with it in PT then


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:06 PM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Scroll down a bit on the first page of this thread to read about the specifics of the DVerb test:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:37 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,303
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

I love Ozone 8. It's great. I have the Advanced version and it's nice to have the individual plugins. I would actually recommend the whole Music Production Suite over a single app. The interoperability between Ozone and Neutron and Neutron and every other Neutron instance is a whole new work flow.

It comes with RX6 too which is pretty great if you need some cleaning tools. The other plugs are awesome as well, Nectar 2 is constantly used here. You may want to wait for a sale though, it's full price again right now.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2018 | Eleven Rack + ERXP
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:46 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,820
Default Ozone thoughts??

How is 8 on CPU usage @benoni have the versions gotten better since say ozone 5 for CPU usage or have they increased


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis

Last edited by Raoul23; 01-10-2018 at 02:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:07 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,126
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
I love Ozone 8. It's great. I have the Advanced version and it's nice to have the individual plugins. I would actually recommend the whole Music Production Suite over a single app. The interoperability between Ozone and Neutron and Neutron and every other Neutron instance is a whole new work flow.

It comes with RX6 too which is pretty great if you need some cleaning tools. The other plugs are awesome as well, Nectar 2 is constantly used here. You may want to wait for a sale though, it's full price again right now.
Agreed! Much better than 7 as far as sound and compressors etc.
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2018.1 HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Sierra 10.12.6, Digital Performer 9.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:18 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,303
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
How is 8 on CPU usage @benoni have the versions gotten better since say ozone 5 for CPU usage or have they increased


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It depends on what modules you are using. It can eat up a lot of power and have a lot of latency, but I'm using it on an older PC and am able to do what I need to.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2018 | Eleven Rack + ERXP
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:34 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,581
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Ozone8 still a HUGE CPU hog but if you plan the sessions out beforehand you can have the bounced tracks and automations etc already in audio format so when you are ready to master the stems are already done and that way I don't see an issue using O8 on HD10

Of course this is just my thoughts and not in any way the end all option but well worth doing on any computer spec as it just makes everything flow nicely.

We do these steps with the bounced stems even though the record companies pay for professional mastering suites so we haven't mastered ourselves ever. Takes way more knowledge than buying a "mastering plugin" and the learning curve to master for big artists songs that goes on radio worldwide and charts takes many many years and IMHO should be done by the pro's in their field
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:44 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,820
Default Re: Ozone thoughts??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Ozone8 still a HUGE CPU hog but if you plan the sessions out beforehand you can have the bounced tracks and automations etc already in audio format so when you are ready to master the stems are already done and that way I don't see an issue using O8 on HD10

Of course this is just my thoughts and not in any way the end all option but well worth doing on any computer spec as it just makes everything flow nicely.

We do these steps with the bounced stems even though the record companies pay for professional mastering suites so we haven't mastered ourselves ever. Takes way more knowledge than buying a "mastering plugin" and the learning curve to master for big artists songs that goes on radio worldwide and charts takes many many years and IMHO should be done by the pro's in their field


This is true I know, but I get a few bands that just donít have the money to get their tracks mastered professionally. Iíve been using Slate FG-X for ages just on the master bus to add level etc, but thought I might invest in a few semi pro mastering plugins


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will PT 11 allow use of Ozone 5? mspin RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 4 01-03-2015 11:41 AM
Ez mix 2 or Ozone 5? jacub General Discussion 3 05-06-2014 06:14 PM
Update for Ozone 5 and Ozone 5 Advanced gives Pro Tools 10 1 11-27-2011 08:02 PM
Ozone 4 Anangu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-05-2009 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com