Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:59 PM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 294
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I've had it running for a couple of months now, and it's as stable as anything since OS X 10.2! Feels as snappy and smooth as ever.

The only two things I've not been able to solve is hardware related: my Apogee FW Duet have occasional minuscule clicks, and it seems my graphics card (original ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256) have occasional dropouts lasting a second or less. Both these things are so rare that I can live with them no problem on my home everyday mac. When I boot from my SnowLeopard (for PT10) or Lion partition, they go away.

It won't upgrade, until someone makes a new installer with a new patch. I tried upgrade from the App Store and it refused because of hardware incompatibility.

I've not been able to retrace where I got it from.

I'm afraid I can't remember the exact details of the installation, I thought that there might have been more to it than just running the installer from another disk, like some custom procedure, but now I'm not shure. I still have the .dmg with which I installed sierra. 5.5GB, and no accompying special instructions. Very unlike me to not archive those, if they existed.

So I checked; I just now mounted the dmg, opened the installer (it was in norwegian as I am that), and it checked my mac's compatibility, OK'ed it and everything was ready to install. So I'm pretty shure that if you have a mac pro 3.1 and run this installer, it will read in english, and it will work.

Now, if you would suggest a way to make this 5,5GB available to you, I would be more than happy to do so. (Like, WeTransfer free has a 2GB limit…)
Thanks Ben!! I'll look into it and PM you if that's ok?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:04 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,914
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonjewel View Post
Thanks Ben!! I'll look into it and PM you if that's ok?
Shure.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:23 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
One of the best bets for preemptively taking care of things is to have a good ups/power filtering system...
+1 for a good ups/power filtering system. Also:

*use only high quality components in the first place
*excellent cooling
*humidity/temperature controlled room
*no overclock
*periodic cleaning/dusting
*replace battery
*don't bang it around too much
*multiple backups of everything, incl system drive

Even so, eventually everything breaks.
I'm asking about typical expected lifespan/failure rate of:
*motherboard
*power supply
*CPU
*RAM
*video card

I googled - didn't find much.

Thanks !!!
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:26 PM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 294
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Shure.
I had a quick look on the net to see if there was any way to install High Sierra on older Mac Pro's and found this
https://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/ma...r-mac-3654960/
I thought it might be of interest to others also Ben, if you wanted to change to High Sierra.

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-10-2018, 05:23 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,385
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
+1 for a good ups/power filtering system. Also:

*use only high quality components in the first place
*excellent cooling
*humidity/temperature controlled room
*no overclock
*periodic cleaning/dusting
*replace battery
*don't bang it around too much
*multiple backups of everything, incl system drive

Even so, eventually everything breaks.
I'm asking about typical expected lifespan/failure rate of:
*motherboard
*power supply
*CPU
*RAM
*video card

I googled - didn't find much.

Thanks !!!
The gist of what I wrote and to a certain extent what you wrote if you adhere to those precepts then life expectancy will outlive the ability to support the operating system needed to run future s/w.

A temp/humidity controlled room went away a long time ago.

There is no 'typical' lifespan of the components you're asking about. The term you're looking for is MTBF - meantime between failures. And that depends on what the manufacturer says and what they consider a failure. One may give a number based on total failure while another may give a number based on specification degradation but the device still works.

In short you're going to have to ask each manufacturer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-10-2018, 05:52 PM
jryser's Avatar
jryser jryser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 915
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

2012 and 2013 MacBookPros - the '13 is the master and just upgraded to all SSD sample libraries - upgraded VEP to 6, staying on PT 11, Yosemite, and all is right in the world. I get 5 more years I'll be beyond thrilled! It should outlast me anyway!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
A Rig: MacBook Pro Spring 2013, 2.8Ghz I7, 16GB RAM,
OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph GT 050 Qx3 1.5 TB drives Thunderbolt-FW400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
B Rig:MacBook Pro Spring 11, 2.33 GHz I7, 16GB RAM, OSX Mavericks 10.9.4, PT 11.2, MBox Pro 3, Glyph Portagig 62 portable 1 TB drive Firewired with 400, Presonus Faderport. 10 REMOVED!
I am the main songwriter/performer for Midwest Whitetail, Cabela's Deer Nation, Spring Thunder, and Northern Waters Series!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-10-2018, 06:41 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
temp/humidity controlled room went away a long time ago...

The term you're looking for is MTBF ...

ask each manufacturer
I meant to say no temp or humidity extremes.

MTBF - thanks !!!

Well, Gigabyte claims the motherboard caps are good for 50,000 hours: "100% 50,000 hour lifespan Japanese solid capacitors design". So, I guess I'm good for a while!!!
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:07 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,385
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
I meant to say no temp or humidity extremes.

MTBF - thanks !!!

Well, Gigabyte claims the motherboard caps are good for 50,000 hours: "100% 50,000 hour lifespan Japanese solid capacitors design". So, I guess I'm good for a while!!!
That's only one part - what about all the others? 50K hours might seem like a lot but that's only 5.7 years of 24/7 run time.
I figure that once I get past what's called 'infant mortality' then I'll be good UNLESS there's a known failure point like Apple had with certain iMacs and the video cards in them.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:15 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 27
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

2008 mac protools HD11 native card yosemite still going strong no need to change!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-10-2018, 07:47 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,570
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
That's only one part - what about all the others? 50K hours might seem like a lot but that's only 5.7 years of 24/7 run time.
I figure that once I get past what's called 'infant mortality' then I'll be good UNLESS there's a known failure point like Apple had with certain iMacs and the video cards in them.
Good point!!! Hey, what do you think of this (old) article?https://www.pcworld.com/article/2028...-hardware.html
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 07:05 PM
Migrating to new computer and want to transfer my presets to new computer???? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2008 11:52 AM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM
Desktop Computer or Network Computer? platinumx99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-07-2001 09:04 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com