Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-09-2018, 07:48 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,689
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Form me, there are times when a condenser is just too articulate, and the 7b is just the solution.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-09-2018, 08:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,353
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Doesn't Bono use a 7B in the studio?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-09-2018, 09:14 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,451
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Doesn't Bono use a 7B in the studio?
I saw an interview with Eddie Kramer where he mentioned that Bono used SM58 in the control room, and not with a headset.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:38 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,215
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Original SM-7 here and it gets lots of use on electric guitar cabs(gotta be 10 times better than a 57). I have used it on vocals a few times but it usually isn't quite what I need(thru API 312 clone). Gain or noise hasn't been an issue for the most part. I was also going to suggest a Cloud Lifter, which is something I need to try with my Cascade ribbon mics
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-09-2018, 10:59 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

I find it to be a noisy mic even when using it with a cloud lifter.

I use it primarily for spoken word that’s always heard in isolation, so I always treat it with RX to clean it up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-09-2018, 11:37 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,953
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Try a really clean pre like the Grace m101. It will provide lots of gain and any noise will be from the mic/environment, not the pre.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:43 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,161
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

API 3124 at about 3 o'clock does the trick here. Almost always into an 1176 before conversion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11 Rack & SM7B notr2d2 Eleven Rack 11 09-19-2013 04:43 PM
Hiss when using m box pro 2 with shure sm7b heyitskeith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-08-2010 01:22 PM
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 01:00 PM
Studio Projects VTB1 preamp vs ART TPS-II preamp?? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-28-2004 10:23 PM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-06-2003 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com