Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:46 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,872
Default Preamp and SM7b

What preamps are people using with their SM7b? Iím using a liquid channel set to the 1073 emulation. I find itís very noisy. Think I will try some other emulations in a couple of days just thought Iíd see what people here were using.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:55 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,379
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
What preamps are people using with their SM7b? Iím using a liquid channel set to the 1073 emulation. I find itís very noisy. Think I will try some other emulations in a couple of days just thought Iíd see what people here were using.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi,

That's strange, i found the 7B to be fairly quiet. the original 7 was a noise monster. I always used the 7 and 7B close up on mainly loud sources, vocals / guitar cabs.

Ive used it through the Groove Tubes Vipre and also worked well through an Aphex 207 tube pre.

Incidentally Bruce Swedien MJ's engineer always said the original sounded better


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:58 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,872
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Iím giving it about 50db of gain on the liquid channel. If I add some top and compression the white noise is quite prominent on the recorded track when nothing is happening


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2018, 04:28 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,181
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Maybe you are too far from the mic, remember the sm7b is a dynamic not a condenser. Just guessing...
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2018, 04:30 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,390
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

I use it with the Portico 5012. It needs a good amount of gain, but haven't heard any noise that bothered me. What are you recording?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2018, 04:36 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,872
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Iím recording a rock vocal so quite loud. When the track is soloed itís quite prominent only when the vocalist is not singing. My vocal chain is

1073
1176 with about 2-3db on loudest parts
Waves SSL channel in pro tools and sometimes a bit of waves API aswell


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2018, 05:06 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,422
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

You could try a CloudLifter although I've never needed one with my 7B.

Maybe it's the Liquid Channel? Do you have another pre to try?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2018, 05:08 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,872
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Iíve thought that?? The 1073 it emulates is from the 70ís so maybe itís emulated the noise also. I think Iím going to try a few different emulations see if itís any different


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2018, 06:12 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
... the original 7 was a noise monster...
... well, a bit more self-noise than I personally had a use for. I owned 4 original 7's, and finally sold them.
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X Hex-Core @ 3.9 GHz / 32GB / 3 int Samsung SSDs / 3 monitors / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 Quad-Core / 8GB / int Samsung SSD / PT 9.0.3 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2018, 06:38 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,390
Default Re: Preamp and SM7b

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Iím recording a rock vocal so quite loud. When the track is soloed itís quite prominent only when the vocalist is not singing. My vocal chain is

1073
1176 with about 2-3db on loudest parts
Waves SSL channel in pro tools and sometimes a bit of waves API aswell


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I see. That's weird, I think. The SM7B is not my go-to vocal mic, but the handful of times I've used it has been on mellow vocalists with strong S's.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11 Rack & SM7B notr2d2 Eleven Rack 11 09-19-2013 03:43 PM
Hiss when using m box pro 2 with shure sm7b heyitskeith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-08-2010 12:22 PM
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 12:00 PM
Studio Projects VTB1 preamp vs ART TPS-II preamp?? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-28-2004 09:23 PM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-05-2003 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com