Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2018, 08:18 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,168
Default Intel Processors- Mac and Win

Well well well, Key Words In the article,

The fix May decrease performance

And

Affects both Mac and Win

https://www.facebook.com/MacRumors/p...56162445253923


https://www.facebook.com/iPhoneHacks...50248968341387
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


Why hasn't track folders been implemented yet? - (big : P.O.S. , apart)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2018, 08:57 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,852
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

I was reading this earlier and hoping my old Xeons wouldn't be affected, but they say that it affects CPU's from the last decade (pretty close). It would be nice if Intel put out a list of CPU's with this error.

I guess those who have AMD processors from that generation might immediately catch up in performance!

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 09:12 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,168
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

I know that made me think about the AMD chips too....

I don’t know that Intel won’t play the spin doctor and call it less than 0.0001 % of a performance hit...otherwise it sounds like a lawsuit.

They do have tons of money
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


Why hasn't track folders been implemented yet? - (big : P.O.S. , apart)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:38 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

A 5% to 30% slowdown estimate is quite a large range. I wonder if Microsoft will announce when the fixes will be rolled out for Windows 7, 8.1 and 10? It would be nice for people to know. My 2 main computers are AMD, so I am not affected. I do have an older Dell with an Intel CPU, but it is used only for internet browsing and office related tasks.

For you Intel CPU users, I would do a benchmark like PassMark now and compare it to the score after the fix is implemented. Not much you can do about it, but it would be nice to know exactly how big of a performance hit occurs.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:41 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,168
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

If it’s anywhere near 30% I will claim a warranty - (I’m within one year of purchase)

The prices will drop and I can afford the i9’s !!!

If it’s 30% there will be a class action lawsuit
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


Why hasn't track folders been implemented yet? - (big : P.O.S. , apart)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:56 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,056
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

Wow, that's a millionaire business!
We deserve free chips now!
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2018, 11:11 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,758
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

I would assume that the large % hits will be on the lowest end (weakest) of processors. But the assumption of % hit is just guesstimates by those who actually don't know.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2018, 11:18 AM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 98
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitardom View Post
I would assume that the large % hits will be on the lowest end (weakest) of processors. But the assumption of % hit is just guesstimates by those who actually don't know.
I will be setting my machine to defer updates today and won't update until the smoke has cleared. I would rather deal with new pro tools builds than take a chance with this little gem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:15 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,168
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

Yep that’s right
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


Why hasn't track folders been implemented yet? - (big : P.O.S. , apart)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:23 PM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Intel Processors- Mac and Win

Better yet, disable your network adapter (if you don't need your PT rig on the internet), so they don't try to "slip in" an update, even if you have Windows set to defer updates.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 PROCESSORS WORKING (INTEL)????? Bugly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 06-29-2006 12:21 PM
ptle on new intel core duo processors (PC) synbeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-06-2006 11:34 PM
LE for DuoCore Intel will see 2 processors? bobmaus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-28-2006 12:51 PM
Intel Dual Core Processors BasilF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-24-2006 12:17 AM
Can I use 2 Intel Xeon Processors with DIGI002? Antonio Tarantino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-25-2003 04:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com