Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid @ NAMM 2018

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2009, 03:37 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default SC48 how much dsp is in there?

At the glance I did not see that info anyhere.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2009, 04:35 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

2 DSP Cards.

Same as a standard Mix Rack.

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2009, 05:07 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lambrechts View Post
2 DSP Cards.

Same as a standard Mix Rack.

Chris
Thanks Chris! Also in the video they say 20 TDM plugin slots does that mean 20 plugs in total on channels inserts and send-return effects combined? Any other limitations or fine-print regarding that matter?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2009, 05:51 PM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 430
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

20 plug in slots total, but how many plugs you can use depends on how much DSP those chosen plugs consume. There are a total of 18 DSP chips and some of those are used for the mix engine. I would try setting up a show with the 2.8 standalone software set for SC48 and see how many chips are left for plug ins.

The thing is that the Venue line is capable enough with the onboard eq and dynamics that you could get away with only using the plugs for harmonizers, delays and reverbs. I would go in this direction first, see what I have left and then think about the esoteric plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2009, 08:14 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

As mentioned, there are (2) DSP cards in the SC48 and that is fixed---NOT expandable. And while there are (2) DSP cards in the MixRack system that is expandable to a third card....the Venue MixRack, Profile, and DShow use about 1 1/2 cards to process the console where the SC48 really is using about one whole card to maybe 1 1/2. The (20) TDM plugin limit really is a fail-safe, so to speak. When I first went over the SC48 I thought this was a limitation----then again I realized, what other console in this price point can do such a thing..... nuff said.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2009, 10:21 AM
eytan eytan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

Hi Brad,

Does that mean that there are 20b types of plug-ins available or are there 20 plug-in slots in the rack?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2009, 02:53 PM
Rockpolice Rockpolice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 98
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eytan View Post
Hi Brad,

Does that mean that there are 20b types of plug-ins available or are there 20 plug-in slots in the rack?
It means that there are 20 slots and the amount of plug-ins depend on the plug-in itself. Some of them use a whole slot by themselves and some use only 10-15% of a slot.

I haven't yet checked the SC48 offline- editor, but really raw guess would be, that there are the normal 100 plug-in rack slots available to put as many different plug-ins that you have authorization to if they just aren't that dsp-intensive?
__________________
Music business is serious business.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2009, 05:00 PM
amoyer amoyer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockpolice View Post
I haven't yet checked the SC48 offline- editor, but really raw guess would be, that there are the normal 100 plug-in rack slots available to put as many different plug-ins that you have authorization to if they just aren't that dsp-intensive?
From what I have seen on the offline editor, the SC48 has 20 plug in slots, no more.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-23-2009, 05:07 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,294
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

Hi,

The number of plug-ins that can be run at once on a VENUE system depends on two factors: the amount of DSP available for plug-ins, and the number of rack slots available for instantiating the plug-ins. Depending on the combination of plug-ins in use it's possible to use up the available DSP before filling all rack slots; it's also possible to fill up all rack slots before using up the available DSP.

The SC48 comes equipped with a maximum of two DSP cards; each card has 9 DSP chips, for a toal of 18 DSPs. These cards do the basic mixing and also run plug-ins. You can tailor how much DSP is used for each function on the Options > System page (even on the Standalone software). Reducing the number of input channels or GEQs gives more DSP for plug-ins. As a general guideline, a single DSP chip can run one or two high quality reverb, delay, or channel strip emulator plug-ins, and five or more compressor or EQ plug-ins. (It's a bit more complicated than this, but this gives a rough idea).

Plug-ins instantiated in the rack can be inserted on channels or used as bus-fed effects, such as reverbs and delays. For example, you could have 18 compressor or EQ plug-ins for inserts (in addition to the built in channel EQ/Comp/Gate), plus a reverb and a delay, for a total of 20 plug-ins. Each channel can have up to four plug-ins - chosen from the rack of 20 plug-ins - inserted.

The number and type of plug-ins available to choose from depends on the plug-ins installed on the console. A plug-in doesn't use DSP until it's installed in the plug-in rack, so you can always have more plug-ins installed than in use.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2009, 12:41 AM
Rockpolice Rockpolice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 98
Default Re: SC48 how much dsp is in there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by amoyer View Post
From what I have seen on the offline editor, the SC48 has 20 plug in slots, no more.
Ooops. My bad. Next time i'll not guess. Sorry for that.
__________________
Music business is serious business.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC48 to DP or other DAW? brookfloyd VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 08-03-2013 11:42 AM
Sc48 fwx pt9 lmiller VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 03-18-2013 03:39 AM
SC48 and SSD S-ACU VENUE Live Sound Systems 8 05-04-2012 06:56 AM
GPI on SC48 TheMAXX7 VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 03-18-2012 12:11 PM
Sc48+pt le braxty VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 04-18-2010 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com