Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2006, 09:47 AM
rock15478 rock15478 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 86
Default Adjusting volume after automation is written

Hi, I've been wondering this for quite some time now...I'm not even sure if it's possible. Let's say in the middle of mixing a song, I want to fade the guitars down at a certain point, and then fade them back up. I'd normally do this with volume automation. However, let's say a week later I want to change the overall volume of that track, but keep the automation. Is this possible? Whenever I try to change the volume on a track where automation is written, it slides the fader back to its original position. I guess I'm wondering if there's a way to proportionaly keep the automation in relation to the volume changes. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2006, 09:55 AM
RadioMoo RadioMoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 628
Default Re: Adjusting volume after automation is written

OK, select the track you want to do this to, then hit Control+hyphen, which will put that track in Volume view. Then hit F6, the Trimmer tool, put the Trimmer tool on the Volume line, click-hold the line and drag it down; the whole line will drag down, but the automation you wrote will still be there.
__________________
Mbox 1 w/BLA mod, PTLE 6.1, eMac 700MHz, OS X (10.2.8), 1024 MB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2006, 12:42 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Adjusting volume after automation is written

RadioMoo's suggestion definitely will work - if you don't want to mess with the automation though, you have a couple of options. If you have any sort of plug-in on that track, most plug-ins contain an input and output volume, you can just bump one of those up or down to get an overall level change on a track w/o changing the automation. You can also use the Digi 'trim' plug-in to add or subtract a little gain from any track.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2015, 06:42 AM
aylavid aylavid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Japan & New York
Posts: 59
Default Re: Adjusting volume after automation is written

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioMoo View Post
OK, select the track you want to do this to, then hit Control+hyphen, which will put that track in Volume view. Then hit F6, the Trimmer tool, put the Trimmer tool on the Volume line, click-hold the line and drag it down; the whole line will drag down, but the automation you wrote will still be there.

Great tip! Do you have any good idea for PT11 for same thing? Because this does not work for PT11.

Appreciate your help,
__________________
Specifications:
Mac OSX 10.10.4
CPU: 2.8GHz Intel Core i7
RAM: 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Pro Tools 11.3.1

Appreciate the Rescue from Experts,

A.Y.L
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjusting automation volume by 1dB in PT 10 cristol2k Pro Tools 10 10 01-17-2018 05:04 PM
extra automation written viaspiaggia Post - Surround - Video 4 06-14-2013 12:28 PM
Automation Being Written on Untouched Track Chief Technician ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 12 06-06-2007 12:34 PM
adjusting volume automation euphjazz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 12-29-2005 08:40 PM
"No automation could be written.... dkroger ICON & C|24 4 12-19-2005 08:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com