Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid @ NAMM 2018

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2018, 07:16 AM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default Sending Session File (MIDI)

Hi,

I have been asked to send a Session File (I have pt 12.8.3_iMac) because I have a problem with a Plugin. See below:


'' We are sorry about your issue but its in depth so we need more in depth info from you below if you can so we can test this here as close as we can to your situation.

Can you attach the Pro Tools session file with the Syntronik, etc (no audio is needed) so we can load it here and try it. Make sure once you make all your Syntronik changes or a few to make sure to re-save in Pro tools last and exit. ''



So if I go to: File>Save Copy In.

What else do I need to do?

It is midi only_44.1kHz_24bit. (8 bars - nothing special!)

Do I need to checkbox anything else in the Save Copy In, Window?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2018, 02:07 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Anyone...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2018, 05:31 PM
EdwardWilliam's Avatar
EdwardWilliam EdwardWilliam is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Santa Fe/Las Vegas, NM USA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

I’d simply attach the session file to your email. It contains the midi data. Alternatively, check nothing in the Save Copy In window.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Edward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2018, 06:19 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Alright...!

Last edited by jamesleonard; 01-13-2018 at 06:22 PM. Reason: Used to indicate a positive occurrence
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2018, 05:10 PM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

I was talking-to a friend of mine and he stated that:

'' Support may need a complete problem project file, saved from your host, to see why the Syntronik settings are not saved. ''

Could somebody explain what this process consists of?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2018, 02:09 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 7,178
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

He may have meant Pro Tools Cloud?
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 12.7.1 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2018, 08:11 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,476
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesleonard View Post
Do I need to checkbox anything else in the Save Copy In, Window?
First – save your own Syntronik settings by selecting Preset>Save Settings As, then also save your Pro Tools Session.
Then:
'Save Copy In'
Tick 2 items: 'Selected Tracks Only' (your selected MIDI and Aux Tracks) and 'Session Plug-In Settings Folder'

'a complete problem project file'
– in your case – is just a MIDI Track and an Aux Track, with Syntronik instantiated – small enough to email.

Mac Path for Syntronik Plug-In Settings:
Macintosh HD/Users/*username*/Documents/Pro Tools/Plug-In Settings/Syntronik

All the Syntronik (.pak) files should be in IKM's Samples Folder.
(Image of Windows location attached)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Syntronik Samples location (Windows).JPG
Views:	0
Size:	39.7 KB
ID:	9775  
__________________
PT HD 12.4/11.3.2/10.3.10 - Studio One 3 Pro - Win7 64 Ultimate – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (427637U & 4282-UN7) & 433830U Docks – Samples & Songs HDDs - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32 - Champ 12 - Rode NT2-A, SM57
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 06:50 AM
jamesleonard jamesleonard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 124
Default Re: Sending Session File (MIDI)

Thanks for the information, unkJE

I have done what you said. Will the people at the other end be able to ascertain what the problem is?

This is what Support stated to me in an email:

'' This is a perfect first fault finding exercise and by sending him those 2 files he will be able to test them on known systems and come up with the next steps. '' (Their Words)

Thanks

Last edited by jamesleonard; Today at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending just aaf file w/o audio files paulmmoran Post - Surround - Video 6 02-24-2012 01:45 PM
How to copy midi file from one session to another Raoul23 Pro Tools 9 Discussion 2 07-16-2011 01:52 AM
sending PTS File using just a "Plug-in" via ADSL ?? andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-15-2007 01:53 AM
File Type problems Sending over Intenet..... tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 12-01-2005 01:21 AM
Sending file over net Hypekeez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 12-03-2002 01:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com