Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-11-2018, 05:01 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,553
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Good point!!! Hey, what do you think of this (old) article?https://www.pcworld.com/article/2028...-hardware.html
I think it's a good article IF you're building your own machine or hotrodding one. I especially like the gpu testing as I think that's the hardest working part of a computer. I know cpu's can push a lot of data but are not under the constant stress a gpu is. The only thing is you have to, as the article says, do your homework and get temperature numbers from each manufacturer's assembly or part in the computer and THAT'S the hard part in all this.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:49 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,473
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

I just replaced 3 video cards that were becoming a bit sketchy after almost 6 years. A huge improvement.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 2018.4
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-11-2018, 07:57 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,501
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I just replaced 3 video cards that were becoming a bit sketchy after almost 6 years. A huge improvement.
Cool. What were the symptoms? How did you determine the issue was the video cards and not perhaps the PSU?
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / int Samsung SSD / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-11-2018, 09:53 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,553
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I just replaced 3 video cards that were becoming a bit sketchy after almost 6 years. A huge improvement.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Cool. What were the symptoms? How did you determine the issue was the video cards and not perhaps the PSU?
And what were the cards? All the same model or different?

That's what I like about the cheesegrater I got from OWC - I can change things out without paying through the nose to a repair shop.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-11-2018, 10:09 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,473
Default Re: How old is your DAW computer?

They were all the same. I started seeing errors and occasional slowdowns and video blinking. Then a total failure on boot. One of my 3 cards had given up on me. One of the two remaining was running a bit hot. So, I replaced them all. They do work pretty hard pushing 5 monitors, (3 over the console and two at the MIDI station) so... I have my moneys worth from them.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools HDX~HDN 2018.4
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 06:05 PM
Migrating to new computer and want to transfer my presets to new computer???? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2008 10:52 AM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 03:29 PM
Desktop Computer or Network Computer? platinumx99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-07-2001 08:04 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com