Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2017, 02:10 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,308
Default McDSP 6050

Does it map properly on the D-Command?

Thanks.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2017, 11:04 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 915
Default Re: McDSP 6050

Depends on what you define as "properly" Being a "rack" kind of plugin it kinda doesn't fit into the usual D-Command/ICON mapping flow. You can spill the plugin parameters and dig through multiple pages to find the parameter control you want and it does change the parameter but the parameter values displayed on the D-Command are meaningless i.e. values 1-100 rather than matching the values on the plugin.

I tried really hard for a week or so to find a workflow using the D-Command but ultimately found it much faster and more intuitive to use a mouse.

Great sounding plugin however! You should download the demo and check it out!
__________________
Will Russell
Grammy winning engineer
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.12.6, PT12.8.3, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.12.6, PT12.8.3, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.13, PT12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2017, 11:29 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,308
Default Re: McDSP 6050

Thanks for your time, Will.

Poorly explained on my part. I meant how well it maps to the dyn/EQ section on the console. I have done the trial period, but during a period with a lot going on, so I didn't find the time to test the plugin properly.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2017, 11:52 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 915
Default Re: McDSP 6050

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
Thanks for your time, Will.

Poorly explained on my part. I meant how well it maps to the dyn/EQ section on the console. I have done the trial period, but during a period with a lot going on, so I didn't find the time to test the plugin properly.
In a word, poorly. The center section eq/Dynamics only control the first element in the rack, and there are “phantom controls” with some eqs and comps where there is a parameter knob that has a label and level indicator on the knob surround but the knob controls nothing. In addition there are multiple pages of phantom controls depending on the eq or comp with no way of knowing if the knob is actually assigned to anything without looking at the screen.

This plugin is definitely not designed for an ICON series controller. Honestly, I don’t know how anyone could code it to work. Too many variables.
__________________
Will Russell
Grammy winning engineer
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.12.6, PT12.8.3, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.12.6, PT12.8.3, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.13, PT12.8.3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2017, 02:24 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,308
Default Re: McDSP 6050

Thanks a lot for sharing the experience, Will. Appreciate it.

I had decided against buying plugins that doesn't map, but we'll see. I do like McDSP.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: McDSP 6030 HD v5 & FutzBox Native v5 (for sale with permit from McDSP) Dusty Angel Buy & Sell 3 11-15-2013 07:00 AM
MCDSP ?? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-06-2008 04:06 PM
McDSP Scorpio253 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-14-2007 05:48 AM
McDSP soon on LE... GW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-24-2005 10:00 AM
McDSP for XP Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-12-2004 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com