Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-30-2018, 12:31 PM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 11
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Thank you !
(iMac pros are not on my wish list because of their price.)

I understand that you say i’d Better go for Mac Pro 2013.
I must hope that it’ll work well during 5, 6 or 7 years ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-30-2018, 12:37 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,740
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by boitason View Post
Thank you !
(iMac pros are not on my wish list because of their price.)

I understand that you say i’d Better go for Mac Pro 2013.
I must hope that it’ll work well during 5, 6 or 7 years ;-)
That's impossible to say how well it'll work or more properly be compatible with what's happening in your timeframe. The reason I say that is no one knows what Apple will come out with in operating systems in the future and whether those will be supported with whatever hardware you buy now. The best you can hope for is hope that it'll work - there are no guarantees one way or the other.

Realistically there's no need to be on the bleeding edge of technology. Think more along the lines of stability and not future-proofing. There are plenty of people using 5,1 MacPro cheesegraters to make music for the masses.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-31-2018, 01:55 AM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 11
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Thank you very much
Your pragmatism is caring

One can read here and there that a new 2018 mac Pro is about to be released on dec 2018.
I suppose that the actual 2013 Mac pro value will tremendously decrease... more than a i7 7700 iMac will. Right or wrong ?

Last edited by boitason; 03-31-2018 at 02:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-31-2018, 05:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,740
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by boitason View Post
Thank you very much
Your pragmatism is caring

One can read here and there that a new 2018 mac Pro is about to be released on dec 2018.
I suppose that the actual 2013 Mac pro value will tremendously decrease... more than a i7 7700 iMac will. Right or wrong ?
I would think so. I have to ask - what's a 7700 iMac? Not heard that term.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-31-2018, 12:23 PM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 11
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

An iMac i7 7700 is a 21.5" 2017 iMac.
An iMac i7 7700K is a 27" 2017 iMac.

Some have reported a noise issue on the 7700K because of the fans trying to cool the i7 7700K CPU that is known to heat a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-31-2018, 03:10 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,740
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by boitason View Post
An iMac i7 7700 is a 21.5" 2017 iMac.
An iMac i7 7700K is a 27" 2017 iMac.

Some have reported a noise issue on the 7700K because of the fans trying to cool the i7 7700K CPU that is known to heat a lot.
Thanks but like I said I've never heard those terms before at least here in the US nor on the Apple site either.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-31-2018, 03:13 PM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 11
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

All is here ;-)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMac_(Intel-based)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-31-2018, 03:22 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,740
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Quote:
Originally Posted by boitason View Post
Your link is faulty. When clicked on it asks: 'Maybe you want this' https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMac_%28Intel-based%29 but again this is not something referenced by Apple on their site (especially the purchasing section).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-31-2018, 03:27 PM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 11
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Yes. Thank you. Copy-paste error with iPhone ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-13-2019, 12:58 PM
boitason boitason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Saint-Maur-Des-Fosses
Posts: 11
Default Re: Which CPU / computer for protools 2018

Hi,

Sorry for the late conclusion, but this what I can finally tell :
my final choice has been a MAC Pro 6,1 Xeon 6 cores, 16 Go ram, upgraded to 64 Go.
Great machine.
I had the opportunity to compare the CPU capabilities of this computer to a hackintosh i7 7700k (the same CPU as the iMac 27”).
The Mac Pro handled 14 instances of the TDR Limiter 6 in “insane” mode before CPU over, and the hackintosh handled 16 instances.
But !... I never heard the Mac Pro’s fan even at full CPU, and it’s 1m from my ears (and this doesn’t mean I’m deaf )
For those who are tempted by the hackintosh adventure, it can be a better option when silence is important.
The iMac i7 7700k is not a good option for audio purposes because of the fan noise.
So. I’m glad of my choice.
I think I will be able to use it for several years as long as I do not use many very heavy plug-ins in the same session (Like Acustica or IK tapes).

Cheers

Last edited by boitason; 11-13-2019 at 01:07 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSL Duende Channelstrip Crashing in ProTools 2018.3 thebeatinventor Pro Tools 2018 25 05-07-2018 06:56 PM
Protools 2018.3 Crashes at Launch David Feingold Pro Tools 2018 1 03-20-2018 03:27 PM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 05:41 PM
ProTools 2018.1 PTPerson ICON & C|24 4 02-19-2018 02:08 PM
apogee rosetta and protools 2018 joeydego Pro Tools 2018 12 02-12-2018 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com