Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:55 AM
thebends9 thebends9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Default FIREWIRE EXTERNAL DRIVE

Im looking into buying a Maxtor One Touch II for my powerbook to run protools on. Does it matter if it is a firewire 400 or 800? Any problems with the 400? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2006, 07:25 AM
hki hki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La/Helsinki
Posts: 327
Default Re: FIREWIRE EXTERNAL DRIVE

Hello bends,

I am a sound editor and have 3 external drives, 2 are USB/Firewire Seagate (7200) with Adaptec enclosures and a G-tech 250gb. I find that Seagates are more reliable for my work than Maxtor.

But I do know people that use Maxtor with mixed results. The Seagates BTW have 5 years warranties attached

__________________
"It is better to remain silent and thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2006, 07:15 PM
thebends9 thebends9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Default Re: FIREWIRE EXTERNAL DRIVE

any major difference betwen 8 and 16 mb cache? Anything Ill notice or no.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:27 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: FIREWIRE EXTERNAL DRIVE

I've got 2 of the Maxtor one touch fire 400 drives 200GB & 160GB both 8mb cache and they are sweet as a nut. I can run Pro Tools & Final cut Pro with no problems whatsoever. 20 tracks of audio and around 15-20 plugs is barely using using 30% of the CPU according to the tell tale CPU meter. I heard the segates were quite noisy so thats why i went for the Maxtor. Either way, just make sure what ever you get has the oxford 911 chipset (922 chipset for FW800) in and you'll be away.

Regards
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Avid recommend external USB over external Firewire for audio drive? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 10 03-29-2012 09:39 PM
Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive TrevorForrest Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 04-28-2006 02:59 PM
can i use external firewire drive as audio drive? Joseph Anderson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-20-2003 07:09 AM
How can you use an external firewire drive and Digi002 with only 1 firewire port? CraigD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-16-2003 01:11 AM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-19-2002 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com