Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2005, 06:00 PM
Arya44 Arya44 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 28
Default Automation Scaling

Hi there,

I can not mention how many times I have come across the need to be able to scale the the automation profile. This would be very useful in post production e.g. when you make a volume automation for a flying object approaching you but when you copy the automation to the frequency and gain of EQ, the profile sound right but the range is too much. So, it would be good to have the option to scale the profile (flatten or exagerate the profile) with a simple dialog box to allow you input a certain percentage.

I don't know if Digi likes to add this to their wish list or not. If there is a way to access this wish list, please let me know. Is there a way to send email more directly to the elevant Digi personel? If those people in charge read these items, how can we be sure which ones are read and sent for review, etc?

Also, I'm wondering if anybody knows a trick to get around this issue.

Thanks,

Arya
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:31 PM
PTUser NYC PTUser NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 996
Default Re: Automation Scaling

SO interesting. I was just talking about this last night with a friend.

iw as saying that there ought to be a modulation or control routing system, like there used to be with sample cell, wehreby you could tie controllers together - i.e. the volume of the fader aslo affects the cutting of a filter, and the pan of another tack for instance. I also suggested that (again like the SC matrix) there be co-efficients for scaling.

There was a question here recently about inverting automation. It seems all these things are tied together. If the modulation matrix is too far afield, we ought to be able to cut and paste automation, and scale it, by proportion, and into negative (inverted) amounts.

please?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:21 PM
Hit$quad Hit$quad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, World
Posts: 139
Default Re: Automation Scaling

I can offer a way to trim the automation with a trim function, selecting envelope with selector tool and triming it down with the trim tool.

But as far as scalling %--sorry don't have a clue, but I tried..:)
__________________
Don't confuse kindness for weakness
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2005, 10:02 AM
PTUser NYC PTUser NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 996
Default Re: Automation Scaling

Quote:
But as far as scalling %--sorry don't have a clue, but I tried..:)
Thanks for trying! The point here is that there actually is no way to scale automation in Pro Tools right now. We're making a feature request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2020, 09:08 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 166
Default Re: Automation Scaling

I just finished an extensive online course in Automation, but still can't achieve what I want, i.e. scale automation (not using Trim).

Has anyone figured out how to do this?

The only other thread I found so far: https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=382593&page=2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scaling Automation Data in Time (horizontally) close/far Post - Surround - Video 6 08-26-2009 02:21 PM
Scaling Automation Data in Time (horizontally) close/far Tips & Tricks 2 08-26-2009 06:58 AM
Protools multicore scaling tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-01-2008 11:31 AM
Scaling MIDI data Brent1515 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-27-2007 05:06 PM
Automation Scaling? decibel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-13-2002 12:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com