Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2000, 07:04 PM
2 bit 2 bit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Midland Park NJ
Posts: 57
Default G3/300/MT Cheetah Freeze on startup problem

Beige G3 300/320 MB OS 9 Adaptec 2940U2W firmware 1.1 Power Domain Control 5.0.1 / 5.1 etc. (4) External Cheetahs ST318404LW. Bit 3 Mix Plus.


Drives will mount under OS 8.6 on the same machine. I had them working under OS 9.0.4 on a 8600. But they keep freezing the system right before the OS 9 welcome screen would appear. Tried new installs of 8.6 and 9.x on 3 different drives (ide,scsi wide, and ultra 2) and concluded that OS 9 is conflicting somehow.

I would be willing to try out the Atto express PCI card that came with the G3. I checked the card with Atto express protools and got the following.

Sim vendor Apple Computer
Type: SYM53c875
symbios: 53c875
single-ended
Card Model: NCR-875

The only markings on the card is Atto Express PCI screened on a chip. I think it's scsi wide, but not sure. Hopefully the ProTools World will save me. Thanks for any advice.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2000, 05:32 PM
2 bit 2 bit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Midland Park NJ
Posts: 57
Default Re: G3/300/MT Cheetah Freeze on startup problem

Well just for record sake. The problem turned out to be the FWB drivers, and possibly the fact that FWB software was never installed on that machine. Reinitialized all the drives with Atto Express ProTools 2.4.1 and installed the Atto drivers. Problem is solved. Now to finish setting up my new used G3.

Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Freeze PT 10.3.5 HD (OS 10.7.5) lownotesinc Getting Started 0 11-14-2013 08:15 AM
Freeze on startup, PT 9.0.5, OSX 10.6.8 idimo macOS 2 10-15-2011 06:29 AM
pro tools freeze at startup dominic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 01-16-2009 01:18 AM
PT startup freeze when clock set to external sophie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-21-2006 12:27 PM
Atto/Freeze at startup/933 G4/scsi 64 patman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-25-2003 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com