Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-16-2011, 07:34 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Sandwisch View Post
Which CPU did you decide to go with?
i7 920. The components in the build are in my user profile.
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-21-2011, 04:23 AM
Halstein Halstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 141
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 (see profile). Moved my HD2 PCI-system from an old G5. Was sceptical to start using Win, but have to admit - it now works great...after some tweaking. Real powerhorse for a small cost. Just follow the Win 7 optimizations point-to-point. And be aware of possible name truncating when moving your Mac sessions to PC - manually relink audiofiles with unique ID only works.
__________________
pthd9-pt11
imac 14,1 / imac 7,1 / macbook air 5,2 / self-built hackintosh with gigabyte z97x board + quad i7-4690
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:14 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

I set up my system around the Intel H55HC motherboard with an i7 quad and 4G RAM. Works flawlessly. Modern, currently available, 3 adjacent PCI slots. No dremel necessary.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...7BBTkwCjCECjCE
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-22-2011, 03:28 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean shannon View Post
I set up my system around the Intel H55HC motherboard with an i7 quad and 4G RAM. Works flawlessly. Modern, currently available, 3 adjacent PCI slots. No dremel necessary.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...7BBTkwCjCECjCE
dude

i live in the uk im looking to build a hd3 rig PCI-X version. The mobo you suggest i cant seem to find, is it the same as the DH55HC version that one i can find

Thanks in advance
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:05 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
dude

i live in the uk im looking to build a hd3 rig PCI-X version. The mobo you suggest i cant seem to find, is it the same as the DH55HC version that one i can find

Thanks in advance
Maybe post a link to what you can get....
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:14 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Maybe post a link to what you can get....
Cheers dude heres the link

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/INTEL-DH55HC-M...item20b7a10080

I dont wanna have to dremmel anything lol

__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:23 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Cheers dude heres the link

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/INTEL-DH55HC-M...item20b7a10080

I dont wanna have to dremmel anything lol

You might check with the seller as to the difference between the D and the H prefix. Or Intel.com. A cursory glance but they look the same to me. Most of the Intel Chipsets are about the same as far as compatibility goes. In this case your really just looking for slot clearance.

Dude the Dremel is the best part!

EDIT: Its the same board. The TigerDirect listing dropped the "D" . If you look at the actual model number its DH55HC.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-23-2011, 10:17 AM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
The mobo you suggest i cant seem to find, is it the same as the DH55HC version that one i can find
Yes, that is the one! Works well for PTHD PCI cards. You will notice that it does not have a firewire port, so I added a PCIe firewire card, and we're good! I put mine in a large rack case. Also, I added a video card because Win 7 needed it. It has been running smoothly the whole time.
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-25-2011, 11:35 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean shannon View Post
Yes, that is the one! Works well for PTHD PCI cards. You will notice that it does not have a firewire port, so I added a PCIe firewire card, and we're good! I put mine in a large rack case. Also, I added a video card because Win 7 needed it. It has been running smoothly the whole time.
Cheers dude i better lay some cash out for this then

Thanks again
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-25-2011, 02:13 PM
dopplah dopplah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default Re: Modern motherboard for original PCI HD Core and Process cards

I've built both the Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3L and the Intel H55HC, each with an i7 870, and each have successfully run Pro Tools. I had to use an ATI chipset graphics card (despite the fact that only Nvidea is "Avid approved").

However, NEITHER will allow a Mojo to export video through the FireWire port. On the Gigabyte it returns a "Overloading CPU... Error -6031" error anytime the Mojo is plugged in. Regardless of video in the session or not. Regardless of driver status (modern vs. 'legacy').

The Intel doesn't have an onboard FireWire port, so I purchased the Avid approved SIIG PCIe to 1394 card. The Intel doesn't return -6031 errors-- but it also doesn't output video via FireWire. With modern drivers it won't allow Pro Tools to fully boot up, returning "Could not complete your request because The media is write protected (19) ." Whatever that means! Legacy drivers are required to even get video to even consider initializing. Eventually I was able to output stuttered & delayed video but now I can't even manage to do that.

FireWire works fine for an external hard drive, but not for real-time video output.

If you don't need to run video ON AN AVID PERIPHERAL (!) either works very well.

-------------

dopplah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the thermal output/heat load of HD core cards and process cards? yosemitesam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-24-2011 02:39 PM
Remote access to HD Core & Process Cards though the LAN???? pmcmurt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-06-2011 11:15 AM
Motherboards and systems for use with original HD core and process cards? David Sandwisch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 16 04-20-2010 06:42 PM
PCI-X G5 and HD core and process cards Charles Schaefer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-26-2005 02:23 PM
HD Core and process cards faulty??? Michel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-09-2002 04:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com