Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-24-2012, 07:54 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

The Artist Control has "On" buttons instead of "Mute" buttons, which light up when the channel is NOT muted, and do not light up when the channel IS muted .... the exact opposite of the Pro Tools software.

Someone really thought that one through.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-24-2012, 08:09 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
The Artist Control has "On" buttons instead of "Mute" buttons, which light up when the channel is NOT muted, and do not light up when the channel IS muted .... the exact opposite of the Pro Tools software.

Someone really thought that one through.
I know, that's annoying but it's the way british desks work and Euphonix is a UK company. Still I wish we could at least have the option of reversing the button lights.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-24-2012, 08:49 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,192
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

I loved my Mackie Control, but starting around PT9, seems to me, anything HUI became very unreliable. If I was a conspiracy nut, I'd say Avid wrote in code to screw up HUI mode, to try and get people to buy other control surfaces...

So I'd skip HUI, it's dead protocal, will never be expanded or improved upon.

What about the Command 8? Very similar to a Mackie Control.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:47 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
I know, that's annoying but it's the way british desks work and Euphonix is a UK company. Still I wish we could at least have the option of reversing the button lights.
An SSL 4k, 6k or 9k does not work that way, nor does a Neve VR. Both british consoles. Avid should simply make a v2 with mutes that match Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:51 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
snip... If I was a conspiracy nut, I'd say Avid wrote in code to screw up HUI mode, to try and get people to buy other control surfaces... snipl.
You mean like the way Pro Control will now hard crash Pro Tools v10 in fader-flip mode if the bus name is beyond 8 characters in length ?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-24-2012, 10:13 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,435
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
I loved my Mackie Control, but starting around PT9, seems to me, anything HUI became very unreliable. If I was a conspiracy nut, I'd say Avid wrote in code to screw up HUI mode, to try and get people to buy other control surfaces...

So I'd skip HUI, it's dead protocal, will never be expanded or improved upon.

What about the Command 8? Very similar to a Mackie Control.
You couldn't be more wrong there.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-24-2012, 10:24 AM
lberrios1962 lberrios1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 70
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Avid artist control is 100x better then any mackie based controller. You can program buttons to it that only icons have had up until now for about 25000 dollars less.
Sorry but I have to disagree with you.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-24-2012, 11:15 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by lberrios1962 View Post
Sorry but I have to disagree with you.
How so?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-26-2012, 12:51 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 729
Default Re: Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
What about the Command 8? Very similar to a Mackie Control.
I'm using a Command|8 and a Euphonix Artist Control. They complement each other.
As I bought the Artist Control I thought the Command|8 could retire but it's still necessary for my workflow. Especially the faders move much smoother than the Euphonix ones. It seems like the Digi/Avid controllers have better quality and are optimized for Pro Tools.
Both have their advantages, here are some examples:
-C8 bank switches are reflected in the software, Artist controllers can't
-Artist controllers can lock faders, C8 can't.
-Artist Control has a lot of useful commands on its touchscreen
-C8 has fader flip (especially useful for plug-in editing), Artist Control hasn't

I'm not sure if a C24 would serve me much better. The Euphonix concept is ideal for my workflow but there are still too many issues.

Kind regards

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac mini 2018 i5 64 GB RAM, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 2019, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Control vs Euphonix MC Control? DAWgEAR Artist Series 3 10-22-2012 07:10 AM
Digi 003 Control Surface Mackie Control Mode ctmusicman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-23-2008 07:23 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM
Digi 002 Control Surface vs. Mackie Control damonmenne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-31-2003 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com