Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2010, 11:28 AM
xRollinx xRollinx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Exclamation Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7

As the title says, I've just got the Pro Tools 8 M-Powered and installation won't even begin. Clicking on install pro tools from the splash menu on the cd opens a new window that says "Setup.exe has stopped working." I know the 8.0.3 update will allow me to use Pro Tools on win7 but it is an UPDATE and I cannot update something that isn't installed.

What can I do to get this thing installed and updated to the win7 compatible version?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2010, 12:00 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7

I was able to install the Full Installer of 8.0 on Win 7 then update to 8.0.3. Re-download the 8.0 Installer and try it again. It may be corrupted.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2010, 12:05 PM
xRollinx xRollinx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7

Where can I find the full installer for 8.0? I purchased a physical CD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:10 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7

I bought the Digital Download from Sweetwater. You can probably register your PT on Digidesign's website, login, go to my products, and download from there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2010, 05:08 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7

If you register through MyDigi, you can download 8.0 through your account.
I was also able to install 8.0 on win 7 64bit

Try copying the dvd to your hard drive and running the setup there. It's faster to install and less problems with the dvd errors.
Edit: I don't know if when you by the physical disk, if MyDigi has the full installers, but you should def try to copy the dvd over to you hd.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:35 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,137
Default Re: Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7

If you have PT8 registered with Digi, contact them and arrange to have the full installer for 8.0.3 placed in you account, this is a far simpler way to install.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 8 LE on Win7 Installation Help Needed BrendanB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-06-2012 07:42 PM
Can I have both a PT LE 8 and PT 9 install on the same Win7 installation? Skwaidu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-08-2010 12:33 PM
Upgraded to Win7, new PT installation can't see HW leftbrain99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-06-2010 10:47 PM
LE 8.0.4 Installation Failures on Win7 + Solution finches 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-10-2010 03:30 PM
Installation problems - win7 danny1990 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 08-07-2010 11:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com