Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:13 AM
odd odd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 6
Default Turntables directly into 002?

... Why doesn't this work? Do I need something else in the signal chain to make this sound good or are there any good free plug-ins I could use to make them sound adequate? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:36 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,315
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

this will require an amp before 002, as turntables don't feed line-level signal.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:49 AM
odd odd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 6
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

Another amp??? Arrgghh this is becoming expensive! haha .. Thanks again//.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2004, 02:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,315
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

or, you can just route the turntable via your home hifi system (if that has line level outputs).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2004, 07:37 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

It's just a little phono amp, usually around $30. Little black rectangular box with inputs for your turntables, a pair of RCA outputs and a ground connector. Set up in 2 minutes, plug to your 002R's ALT-SRC and you're done. Works great for me, then I engage the 7/8 switch, select inputs 7-8 in PT or Live when it's time to steal!!!
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2004, 10:36 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

Related question.

I don't have a turntable, but I need to jack some excerpts from a speech off a CD. I figured I'd rip the CD in iTunes, but, how do I import audio from somewhere other than another session? Is this possible?
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2004, 10:40 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

Quote:
Related question.

I don't have a turntable, but I need to jack some excerpts from a speech off a CD. I figured I'd rip the CD in iTunes, but, how do I import audio from somewhere other than another session? Is this possible?
um....

Once you have the file from cd saved somewhere, "import audio" form regions list. I'm baffled that this is news to you....
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-17-2004, 10:48 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

Quote:
Quote:
Related question.

I don't have a turntable, but I need to jack some excerpts from a speech off a CD. I figured I'd rip the CD in iTunes, but, how do I import audio from somewhere other than another session? Is this possible?
um....

Once you have the file from cd saved somewhere, "import audio" form regions list. I'm baffled that this is news to you....
I'm aware of the process, just never used it. And I was under the impression that you may only be able to import audio from other sessions. I'm not near the unit to test it out.

I'm assuming that you are saying I can import audio from any where, not just other Pro Tools sessions.
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-17-2004, 11:47 AM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

Quote:
I'm assuming that you are saying I can import audio from any where, not just other Pro Tools sessions.
your assumption is correct.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-17-2004, 11:56 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Turntables directly into 002?

Quote:
... Why doesn't this work? Do I need something else in the signal chain to make this sound good or are there any good free plug-ins I could use to make them sound adequate? Thanks in advance!
You also need to have an amp with an RIAA EQ curve found in a turntable phono preamp.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turntables & Vinyls firsty33 General Discussion 4 10-30-2013 04:46 PM
Recording from turntables to mbox 2 Godballe General Discussion 4 07-07-2010 08:46 AM
Turntables and Protools...HELP???? ProperTonez General Discussion 2 09-18-2006 06:04 PM
M-BOX EXPERTS: Please help me hook-up turntables! williamc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-17-2004 01:30 PM
Recording Turntables Matt Lock General Discussion 2 09-04-2001 12:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com