Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2012, 12:50 PM
armytanker armytanker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 169
Default slow audio

I got the 003 rack+ and when I play a recorded session that was recorded with the mbox2 pro,the audio seems to play slow, like a record player playing the record slow. Any ideas on how to fix it? Thanks.
__________________
2006 MacPro "Quad Core" Intel Xeon processors, 2.66GHz, 6X Superdrive, 7Gb, OS X 10.7.5, Digirack 003+, PT10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2012, 03:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,942
Default Re: slow audio

Sounds like a sample rate issue that should not be happening. What rate was used when you recorded with the Mbox? What rate is showing when the 003 is the audio interface? Was any external device in play when you recorded the tracks(anything connected to the Mbox via a digital connection)?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2012, 05:42 PM
armytanker armytanker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 169
Default Re: slow audio

The sample rate with the Mbox2 was 44 and now with the 003 it's at 48. Could that be the problem? Is there a way to fix it?
__________________
2006 MacPro "Quad Core" Intel Xeon processors, 2.66GHz, 6X Superdrive, 7Gb, OS X 10.7.5, Digirack 003+, PT10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2012, 05:55 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,639
Default Re: slow audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by armytanker View Post
The sample rate with the Mbox2 was 44 and now with the 003 it's at 48. Could that be the problem? Is there a way to fix it?
Yes this is classic sample rate mismatch.

File>Import Audio and change the clock rate. Check the SRC box in the dialog (SRC == Sample Rate Conversion). The rest should be self explanatory.

You can also just keep working at 44.1 kHz, just change the 003 clock rate.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2012, 05:59 PM
armytanker armytanker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 169
Default Re: slow audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Yes this is classic sample rate mismatch.

File>Import Audio and change the clock rate. Check the SRC box in the dialog (SRC == Sample Rate Conversion). The rest should be self explanatory.

You can also just keep working at 44.1 kHz, just change the 003 clock rate.

Darryl
Awesome!! Thanks alot! I really appreciate it!!
__________________
2006 MacPro "Quad Core" Intel Xeon processors, 2.66GHz, 6X Superdrive, 7Gb, OS X 10.7.5, Digirack 003+, PT10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2012, 09:18 PM
armytanker armytanker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 169
Default Re: slow audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Yes this is classic sample rate mismatch.

File>Import Audio and change the clock rate. Check the SRC box in the dialog (SRC == Sample Rate Conversion). The rest should be self explanatory.

You can also just keep working at 44.1 kHz, just change the 003 clock rate.

Darryl
Ok, so I was able to fix the sample rate issue, but I wanted to add tracks to record additional audio, but now it only shows 4 inputs from my old mbox I assume. It won't let me add more since now I have the 003. Any recommendations?
__________________
2006 MacPro "Quad Core" Intel Xeon processors, 2.66GHz, 6X Superdrive, 7Gb, OS X 10.7.5, Digirack 003+, PT10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2012, 09:45 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,639
Default Re: slow audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by armytanker View Post
Ok, so I was able to fix the sample rate issue, but I wanted to add tracks to record additional audio, but now it only shows 4 inputs from my old mbox I assume. It won't let me add more since now I have the 003. Any recommendations?
What are you trying to do? Fix apparently missing IO inputs or add more audio Tracks? Very different things.

Create a new Tack: go to Track>New assign it any of the available inputs you want.

If your actual inputs (and outputs? etc.) in Pro Tools do not match your interface then go to the Setup>IO pages and hit the default button on each page.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Import from CD Very Slow wolfdavis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-06-2012 01:25 PM
Slow Audio on Non-PT apps ElysianChris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-21-2006 10:10 PM
Audio running too slow??? doulos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-10-2006 02:27 PM
Any way to slow down audio playback? nueme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-07-2005 10:41 AM
Slow audio duplicates? Dracula Tips & Tricks 2 11-14-2004 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com