Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2019, 01:29 PM
soundartsonline soundartsonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: US
Posts: 143
Default How to change colors of tracks/ Protools 11.1.3

Specifically: colors of clips. I see no option for doing this. Been looking

Why does Protools make this so difficult?

I'll be checking back in for suggestions.

Thanks!

Lisa
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2019, 12:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,863
Default Re: How to change colors of tracks/ Protools 11.1.3

Pretty sure its found under the Preferences sub-menu. There's quite a lot of stuff in there that's worth learning, so I would dig thru the help files a bit, and search youtube for some video guidance
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2019, 12:32 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,658
Default Re: How to change colors of tracks/ Protools 11.1.3

Its done the same way for the last several versions of Pro Tools, with the Color Palette. Just select a clip with it open and it should automatically change to clips.

Here's a couple videos

Pro Tools | Color Clips on the Timeline LIKE A BOSS!
https://youtu.be/SnpsxoR-hM0

Pro Tools | Color Clips in the Clip List LIKE A BOSS!
https://youtu.be/_Laui6VYu_o

Pro Tools | All Colors the Same LIKE A BOSS! (Tracks, Clips, Clip List Colors)
https://youtu.be/g2c82Ln_k78
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2019, 01:45 PM
soundartsonline soundartsonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: US
Posts: 143
Default Re: How to change colors of tracks/ Protools 11.1.3

Benoni,

Protools 11 does not have that option unfortunately. I've tried many times. When I click on a clip it brings up a window but not the color palette.

Thanks,

Lisa
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2019, 01:48 PM
soundartsonline soundartsonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: US
Posts: 143
Default Re: How to change colors of tracks/ Protools 11.1.3

Dave,

No such luck under preferences. Tried that already. All you get is the option to select track color on the submenu, but after that nothing happens. No color palette offered. It's like they forgot to add that in this version of Protools.
Pretty annoying.

Thanks anyway,

Lisa
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2019, 02:17 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,658
Default Re: How to change colors of tracks/ Protools 11.1.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundartsonline View Post
Benoni,

Protools 11 does not have that option unfortunately. I've tried many times. When I click on a clip it brings up a window but not the color palette.

Thanks,

Lisa
Did you watch the videos?

You don't click on a clip to open the Color Palette, you double click on the strip at the bottom/side of a track or open the color palette from the WINDOW menu (shown in videos). Then you clip on a clip to select the source for the color transformation or switch it from the Color Palette menu.

Are you using Pro Tools 11 FULL VERSION or First?

Because it's definitely in PT11.

Color Pallett.jpg

color palette 2.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to change marker colors foxes Pro Tools 12 12 07-18-2017 06:48 PM
How Can I change the Track Colors?? bcrichguitar Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 3 12-04-2011 09:56 AM
is there a way to change the default colors for tracks blackmajik2021 Pro Tools 9 11 12-13-2010 11:11 AM
Change Track Colors JHJ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-06-2007 06:25 PM
quick stupid question...how do you change colors?? ejsongs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-14-2005 08:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com