Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:35 AM
ReachMusicProductions ReachMusicProductions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Default Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

I've read the focusrite recommended support sheet, I've done the windows optimizations for pro tools as well. All of a sudden I'm having pretty horrible popping and clicking while tracking bass guitar. All the buffer size options still promoted popping and clicking. Not sure what to do. I tried another firewire port on my PCI card and I tried a restart.

Pro Tools 10.3.6
Saffire Pro 40
Windows 7



Computer specs-

Case- Newegg.com - iStarUSA 3U Stylish Zinc-Coated Steel Rackmount Server Chassis Front-mounted ATX Power Supply (D-300-PFS)

Power supply- Newegg.com - SeaSonic X series SS-400FL Active PFC F3 400W ATX12V Fanless 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

MotherBoard- http://www.microcenter.com/product/3...el_Motherboard

Processor- http://www.microcenter.com/product/3...1155_Processor

RAM- Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX8GX3M2B1600C9

SSD (Main Drive)- Newegg.com - Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Audio Drive- Newegg.com - Western Digital WD Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Backup Drive- Newegg.com - Western Digital WD Green WD20EARX 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

PCI- (For saffire pro 40)- Newegg.com - SIIG 3-port 1394 (FireWire) PCI adapter Model NN-400012-S8

Wifi- Newegg.com - ASUS PCE-N15 Wireless Adapter IEEE 802.11b/g/n PCI Express 300/300Mbps Transfer/Receive Rate 64-bit WEP, 128-bit WEP, WPA2-PSK, WPA-PSK, WPS support
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:46 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,621
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Try these 1 at a time:
1. Disable WiFi (i.e. do all AVID optimizations)
2. Get latest MixControl version
3. Make sure MixControl set to internal clock
4. Different FW cord. Test other FW devices.
5. Not sure about that WD Blue drive.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.6 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:49 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
5. Not sure about that WD Blue drive.
Yeah blue drives not recommended and may not work at all

Have you ever had a good set up working with this?

What about rolling back to 10.3.3 or 10.3.4
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:56 AM
ReachMusicProductions ReachMusicProductions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Yeah blue drives not recommended and may not work at all

Have you ever had a good set up working with this?

What about rolling back to 10.3.3 or 10.3.4
Try these 1 at a time:
1. Disable WiFi (i.e. do all AVID optimizations)
2. Get latest MixControl version
3. Make sure MixControl set to internal clock
4. Different FW cord. Test other FW devices.
5. Not sure about that WD Blue drive.

1-3 Already completed. I need to try #4 for sure! Great point!


Have you ever had a good set up working with this?

What about rolling back to 10.3.3 or 10.3.4[/QUOTE]

Yes, generally pro tools 10 will run pretty optimally until I start running larger sessions with multiple VI's and AAX plugs. Rolling back won't be an option because I need 10.3.6 for the co install to keep PT11.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2013, 02:56 PM
ReachMusicProductions ReachMusicProductions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

So I just moved the whole session onto my SSD only. Still getting clicks and pops on playback and while recording. Wifi card was already disabled since I'm hardlined to the internet, but I disabled the connection as well.

Not really sure where to go from here, buffer size doesn't seem to affect the problem. Really sucks. Maybe one of the "Optimizations" isn't working well with my machine.

Any ideas?

I also tried creating a brand new session, still getting popping and clicking while recording. I also made sure the clock was set to internal on the saffire mix control software.
Also tried a new session in Reaper, same problem. So we now know it's a saffire problem or something with the computer correct?

Also tried switching to the "Legacy Driver"- http://support.presonus.com/entries/...-switch-to-it-

To no avail!

Last edited by ReachMusicProductions; 07-07-2013 at 03:09 PM. Reason: Additional synopsis added.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2013, 03:41 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReachMusicProductions View Post
So I just moved the whole session onto my SSD only. Still getting clicks and pops on playback and while recording.
You have to have two drives...it is not viable to run your session off your SSD (which i presume is your main o/s install).

This will cause clicks and pops...due to audio thruput issues.

Clock issues generally cause clicks and pops......


Try this.....Run w/o the saffire interface run your native computer interface. I am assuming your running windows...so make sure you have AISO installed on your machine.......

New session and see if you get the same things......same audio issues....
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2013, 03:57 PM
ReachMusicProductions ReachMusicProductions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
You have to have two drives...it is not viable to run your session off your SSD (which i presume is your main o/s install).

This will cause clicks and pops...due to audio thruput issues.

Clock issues generally cause clicks and pops......


Try this.....Run w/o the saffire interface run your native computer interface. I am assuming your running windows...so make sure you have AISO installed on your machine.......

New session and see if you get the same things......same audio issues....

I meant that I copied the session to the SSD, instead of running it off the WD Blue drive.

I also tried the suggested method, still resulted in pops and clicks. Thank you for your input though!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2013, 04:05 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,034
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

If you have the Saffire Pro 40 selected as the Windows audio device, that could be a problem. Change the Windows audio device to anything other than the Saffire and see if that resolves your issue.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.12, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2013, 04:09 PM
ReachMusicProductions ReachMusicProductions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 49
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
If you have the Saffire Pro 40 selected as the Windows audio device, that could be a problem. Change the Windows audio device to anything other than the Saffire and see if that resolves your issue.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
Unfortunately still unresolved.
I cannot even begin to understand why this is all of a sudden acting up.

Just tried running a new session in PT11 as well.
I also played with the Firewire Latency setting in the mix control panel. Seemed to help reduce the clicking and popping but not by much at all.

Last edited by ReachMusicProductions; 07-07-2013 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2013, 05:16 PM
Bill Simmons Bill Simmons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 11
Default Re: Saffire Pro 40- Pops and Clicks.

Not sure if this helps any but we have 2 saffire pro 40s and an Octipre and every now and then I have to go into the Saffire mix control and change the clock setting to ADAT on our system. Still haven't figured out why it changes to "internal" on it's own. But I am also still pretty new at all this.

Macbook Pro
Protools 9
Saffire Pro 40 (2)
Focusrite Octipre
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New comp i7, pops, clicks @ buffers 64-128 w/ Focusrite Saffire 56 Dot Pro Tools 9 17 12-27-2011 12:50 PM
Help with pops and clicks brickroadstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 04-17-2011 11:17 AM
Clicks & Pops tallpaul1st 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-18-2009 12:47 PM
6.2.2 pops and clicks auckland yobbo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 01-13-2004 10:35 AM
Pops and Clicks msilva9383 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-05-2003 01:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com