Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2012, 01:33 PM
rickwhite rickwhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Key Largo
Posts: 5
Question Playback Gets Garbled half way through

Hi,
New to this forum, but just bought 9 to do CDs on hypnosis tapes.
I recorded about 20 minutes of stuff, and when playing back it sounded great for the first 10 minutes, and then vocal and music started sounding all scratchy.
Nothing was changed during the recording.., all levels stayed the same.

I tried re-recording several times, and each time it was pretty much the same .

Any ideas on how to remedy this situation?

Private email is fine
Thanks,
Rick White,
rick@catsailor.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2012, 02:11 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

computer?
OS?
audio interface?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2012, 02:45 PM
rickwhite rickwhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Key Largo
Posts: 5
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

HP laptop Pavilion G7
Windows 7 Pro
M-Audio Fast Track
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2012, 05:52 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

Could be a hard drive problem but to get a better understanding it would be best to post a Sandra Report;

Use SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application to generate a full system profile:

www.sisoftware.co.uk

Under SiSoftware Sandra, click on "Download & Buy" to download the free Sandra Lite version or purchase other versions. After installing Sandra, click on the 'Hardware' tab and run the 'Computer Overview', then copy and paste into your post here on the DUC.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:51 PM
RegenerationMix RegenerationMix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 752
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

are you recording to an second or external drive and not the system drive?


Chris
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/RegenerationMix

http://soundcloud.com/regenerationmix

http://twitter.com/regenerationmix


MacBook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 16GB, Intel Core i7, Mac OS 10.9.1 128 SSD internal HD, 750 GB Internal HD, Pro Tools 10.3.8, Digidesign 003r, Waves 8.0, Final Cut Pro 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:09 AM
rickwhite rickwhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Key Largo
Posts: 5
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

This is a brand new computer.., don't see how it could be a hard drive problem,

And yes, I am recording directly to the system hard drive.., and it is quite large and this is not making a dent in it.

Interestingly, I played it back again yesterday and it was playing clearly.., for a while. And then it again reverted to the raspy voice (not only my voice, but the music in the background).

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:04 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickwhite View Post
This is a brand new computer.., don't see how it could be a hard drive problem,

And yes, I am recording directly to the system hard drive.., and it is quite large and this is not making a dent in it.

Interestingly, I played it back again yesterday and it was playing clearly.., for a while. And then it again reverted to the raspy voice (not only my voice, but the music in the background).

Rick
Just because the computer is brand new does not mean that the HDD is good for recording with PT. For example, recording to a 5400 RPM system drive could cause problems. 7200 RPM or higher is recommended, especially if you are recording to the system drive, which is not recommended. A Sis report confirms or rules out component red flags.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:41 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickwhite View Post
And yes, I am recording directly to the system hard drive.., and it is quite large and this is not making a dent in it.
That's most likely your problem. The size of the system drive is irrelevant, you definitely need to record to separate drive if you want PT to perform properly.

As you can see, mentioning a hard drive problem doesn't necessarily mean there's a problem with your hard drives mechanics although as pointed out slower spinning HDD's are not recommended for Pro Tools.

A Sandra Report shows any other potential problems too, which is why it's best to provide one to get the most help.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2012, 08:46 AM
rickwhite rickwhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Key Largo
Posts: 5
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

Here is Sandra. It appears the Seagate is 7400 rpm. SO, you think it would work better there?

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : RickWhite-HP
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : HP Pavilion g7 Notebook PC 103C_5335KV G=N L=CON B=HP S=PAV X=Null
Serial Number : 5CD1450HZ3
Chassis : HP Notebook
Mainboard : HP 1671
Serial Number : PBVEK014J11P2G
BIOS : HP F.33 08/30/2011
Intel vPro : 7.01.03.1053
Total Memory : 8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2330M CPU @ 2.20GHz (2C 4T 2.2GHz/2.2GHz, 2.2GHz IMC, 2x 256kB L2, 3MB L3)

Chipset
Memory Controller : HP Core (Sandy Bridge) Mobile DRAM Controller 100MHz FSB, 2x 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 2x 667MHz (1.33GHz), Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : A-Data AD73I1C1674EV 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston 99U5428-042A00G 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12 SM4.1 650MHz/1.1GHz, 64MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
Compute Shader Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics Family (12SP 650MHz/1.1GHz, 64MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
SAMSUNG HM641JI (640.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 596GB (C:) (D:) (E:)
Seagate ST3500418AS (500.1GB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (G:)
hp DVD A DS8A5LH (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
SYSTEM : 199MB (NTFS)
FreeAgent Drive (G:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500418AS (500.1GB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 577GB (NTFS) @ SAMSUNG HM641JI (640.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Recovery (D:) : 15GB (NTFS) @ SAMSUNG HM641JI (640.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
HP_TOOLS (E:) : 4GB (FAT32) @ SAMSUNG HM641JI (640.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ hp DVD A DS8A5LH (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : HP HM65 LPC Controller
Audio Device : HP Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 7605h
Serial Port(s) : 4
Disk Controller : HP Cougar Point Mobile 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : HP Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : HP Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : PrimoPDF (4000x4000, Colour)
Printer : Nitro PDF Reader Driver 2 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : HP LaserJet P1505 (600x600, USB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)
Mobile Broadband Adapter : QUALCOMM INCORPORATED 42 (GSM, 3GPP2)
Wireless Adapter : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter

Power Management
Battery No 1 : Hewlett-Packard Primary 46.66Wh/3.76Ah

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2012, 02:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,958
Default Re: Playback Gets Garbled half way through

Turn wifi OFF when running Pro Tools. You might consider a better interface. I also own a Fast Track Pro and I have to say, the results with it are not good(worked fine with PT8, but stinks with PT9). I think M-Audio needs to deliver a new and improved driver. Mine will glitch or distort at any time(and I am running the latest driver). The new Mboxes(3rd gen) seem to be a better choice. I use my Fast Track/laptop for 3 things. 1-SMAART for PA tuning(works fine), 2-stereo recording in Wavelab(works fine) and 3-as an effects box when the sound system is lacking decent reverb and delay in the rack(M-powered 8 worked fine, PT9 is useless).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT8 half speed playback, what the?! therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-20-2008 04:38 PM
half speed playback help crushed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-29-2007 02:18 PM
Garbled itunes playback emelare 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-03-2004 11:29 PM
Mbox playback garbled... digital noise Gunnar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-22-2003 11:36 AM
No half-speed playback Sonny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-26-2000 12:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com