Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2007, 12:25 AM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Question about Importing Broadcast WAVs using metadata TC

Can I import Broadcast Wave files (with TC in the metadata) into the timeline and have them spot to the their TC?

I'm running PTLE 7.3 with DV Toolkit 2 and the files are all 4 channels. I've imported the files into my session but when I do it the importing process has to split the quad channel into 4 mono channels and I think it's not retaining the metadata. When I try to spot drop the audio into the timeline it shows no TC in the dialog box.

As of today I have no idea what the producers who dropped off this audio want me to do with it. However, I do know that I'll need to import it into PT using their timecode (i think). Maybe they just want a mixdown of all the files in chronological order. If so that simplifies this project but I'm still curious to know if it's possible to come from a hard drive recorder and be able to use the metadata TC in PTLE.

Any info is appreciated.

Thanks.

Mark
002
PTLE 7.3.1cs3
DVTK 2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:37 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,533
Default Re: Question about Importing Broadcast WAVs using metadata TC

Quote:
Can I import Broadcast Wave files (with TC in the metadata) into the timeline and have them spot to the their TC?

Yes but you have to do it manually one-by-one with "spot"

Quote:

I'm running PTLE 7.3 with DV Toolkit 2 and the files are all 4 channels. I've imported the files into my session but when I do it the importing process has to split the quad channel into 4 mono channels and I think it's not retaining the metadata. When I try to spot drop the audio into the timeline it shows no TC in the dialog box.

What was the recorder that created these files? Sometimes you see "out of range" in the original tc field of the spot window. This is because PT 12h time-line limitation. If the recordist ran with TOD TC you might not be able to spot all clips into your session because PT doesnīt allow clips to live outside a 12h-time-line.

Also check what info you get in the workspace. Enable all columns and look for the opriginal TC. If you only see 00:00:00:00 there the files do not contain TC because the recorder didnīt write any TC to the files.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:47 AM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: Question about Importing Broadcast WAVs using metadata TC

Thanks Frank.

That is exactly what I tried, so I'm still baffled. When looking at the original TC each clip shows 00:00:00:00 which I guess would mean that the import process stripped the files of their TC. I did a test to see if TC was in the metadata by importing a clip into Final Cut and it was there.

The field mixer used an Roland Edirol R-4 Pro. Since the files are all 4 channel I guess when PT splits them into 4 mono files it doesn't retain the metadata in each file. Can anyone verify this? If this is true then I find that pretty crippling. (Remember I'm using LE with DV Toolkit 2 so it may be an LE limitation.)

The files which had a TC outside the 12h range it showed 00:00:00:00 as well so I'm thinking the loss of metadata happened upon import.

Any more info is helpful.

Thanks,

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2007, 10:51 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,533
Default Re: Question about Importing Broadcast WAVs using metadata TC

Quote:
Thanks Frank.

That is exactly what I tried, so I'm still baffled. When looking at the original TC each clip shows 00:00:00:00 which I guess would mean that the import process stripped the files of their TC. I did a test to see if TC was in the metadata by importing a clip into Final Cut and it was there.


Go to the work-space and find the original file (donīt import it). PT will show you the original TC if itīs in the file. No need to import. If PT still says 00:00:00:00 for all those files they donīt contain any TC. I guess itīs either a bug in PT, or the machine does not write fully AES31 or iXML compliant meta-data.

PT normally fully retains full BWAV and iXML meta-data. Iīve tested this with Cantar, Deva and 744T files. There was a bug with 744 files wich seems to have been fixes in the new cs4 version of 7.3.1.

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2007, 01:56 PM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: Question about Importing Broadcast WAVs using metadata T

Thanks for sticking with me Frank.

OK, it looks as if each file has TC in the metadata. Most of the TC is after the 12h mark. When I drag from the workspace the files with TC before the 12h mark they spot perfectly. The files with TC after the 12hr mark show 11:25:39:07 as their Original Time Stamp in the spot dialog, when in the workspace their actual TC Stamp is something different. Is there anyway to get around this 12hr limitation?

Mark

Edit: I figured it out. All I have to do is edit the session start time. It seems the 12hr limitation is a limit based on your start time. So if a session starts at 12:00:00:00 you can import all the way to 23:59:59:29
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:41 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,533
Default Re: Question about Importing Broadcast WAVs using metadata T

Yes the 12h limitation refers to the length of the session, not necessarily the 12h-mark on your ruler.

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.9 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting WAVs from PT with metadata Ed L macOS 3 09-20-2011 08:26 PM
Plays imported wavs, records new wavs, BUT WON'T PLAY NEWLY RECORDED WAVs cmoseman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-02-2008 11:20 AM
Metadata into Wavs creativesounds Post - Surround - Video 1 04-06-2006 07:43 PM
Broadcast Wave Metadata in PTHD mBoxLuvr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-15-2006 08:22 AM
Broadcast Wavs shoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-30-2003 11:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com