Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-27-2016, 07:48 AM

Default problem with sends & returns etc.

Hi guys. Me again. I'm new to using sends, returns with aux tracks so please bare with me. I've watched several Youtube videos on the subject and I'm either not following or not understanding the instructions or something is different with my rig. Please correct me if the following is not correct.
1). Inserts A-F are on screen.
2). Sends A-F are on screen.
I click on Insert A for the track I wish the effect to affect. (the insert straight above the guitar track). In this case I want a reverb on the guitar, I then create an Aux track and rename it Reverb.
(The aux track appears just to the right of my Guitar track).
I think I'm ok up to this point. My confusion lies in the bus assignments. Please explain how and to which tracks I assign the bus. I hope this isn't confusing to you but it is to me or at least to me it doesn't follow logic.
One other thing. According to related posts I have been advised to leave the mix level of the reverb plugin at max. When I do I hear way to much verb even with the aux fader at 0! and wind up reducing the plugin level to a listenable level. Thanks to anyone who can straighten me out on this.
Old 02-27-2016, 10:17 AM

Default Re: problem with sends & returns etc.

You have to click on the send, not the insert, on the track you are trying to SEND to the effect on the AUX track. The insert is used on the AUX track
Old 02-27-2016, 04:14 PM