Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2015, 03:39 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 360
Default Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

Surround
Video editing
Since we paid 5x.. We should pay that much again
Please chime in
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2015, 03:41 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,912
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

How many threads do you need on the same subject
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2015, 03:53 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 360
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
How many threads do you need on the same subject
A few
if they keep on moving them
my fellow HD owners are a quiet bunch but I am not

Mr. Southside Johnny if I knew ..or got a good explanation for the amount of money they're asking for such a thing and then I would be satisfied

but I've been stuck it to...for so long ,so hard and I've taken it every time I just need a clear explanation from our overlords at avid and not some moderator who has no power or no thoughts besides defending a company that I have defended too many times in a decade and a half
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2015, 04:10 PM
ghostwriter's Avatar
ghostwriter ghostwriter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 746
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
How many threads do you need on the same subject
How about as many as it takes until somebody from Avid answers.
__________________
A few of of my favorite toys: Retro Instruments 176 (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM 70, SPX90, Roland SDE 3000...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2015, 05:37 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 189
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

It’s an issue.. that’s really unresolved in terms of a response from Avid. This forum is the exact place to voice your opinion as an end user.

This is mine..

Personally feel cheated, ….as we all know key HD features paid for in 12, were suddenly rolled out in 12.2 vanilla.. and no real new HD features have been added to warrant the tariff. 12.2 was a very weak update.

But we do get some plugins, that will remain as long as we pay the plan.. personally I have Space twice already on my iLok, and the very limited library was the thing that let it down. So for me.., that don’t cut the mustard.

On the other hand if Avid gave us Two iLok authorisations per HD plan, this would save me having to take my ilok home to prepare sessions on my Macbook Pro.

I'd consider this then to be good value for money.

But guess they'll never do that!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2015, 05:48 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

Interesting thought. If I would get a 2nd HD license along with the suite of plugins including Eleven mk2, to use on a 2nd ilok, that would definitely have value. Especially when my projects would reside in the elusive cloud, I could mix at my studio and my weekend place without worrying about breaking the fragile ilok.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2015, 07:01 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolz View Post
On the other hand if Avid gave us Two iLok authorisations per HD plan, this would save me

This would be great - I vote for this


Heck even another 12 vanilla- I don't fancy taking my HD asset out of my computer


+100
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2015, 07:13 PM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

I would love to see a response from Avid about this as well. Since they keep narrowing the gap between the 2. The biggest thing I wish they would do with the HD license is remove the goofy 32 I/O limit with 3rd party hardware.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2015, 07:17 PM
gonsdeejay's Avatar
gonsdeejay gonsdeejay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: México City
Posts: 200
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

If you have a Mercedez, You have to pay for Expensive Parts and Post Services, Expensive Services, If you have a Jetta you Pay for Post Service lot Chip tan Mercedez......Just Example!!!!!!!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10. UAudio Apollo 8 Duo & Apollo Twin. Custom PC i7-7700K 16 Gb Ram Thunderbolt 3 SYSTEM-1KRK V88. Yamaha HS7 Korg ESX-1 MBOX2 003Rack Mackie MCU Producing My Own Life
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2015, 07:37 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 360
Default Re: Why is 12 three times more expensive for HD owners

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonsdeejay View Post
If you have a Mercedez, You have to pay for Expensive Parts and Post Services, Expensive Services, If you have a Jetta you Pay for Post Service lot Chip tan Mercedez......Just Example!!!!!!!
Not equal.. its SW ,the same sw.

I dont need Avid support plan..

I already have an LE [12.3] lic for exactly the same reasons the others here do...i.e to work on 2 machines. Studio / Home prep

which btw is super BS if we are all going " subscription"

Also I can run Logic LIve, cubase on HD Hw [$$] but not LE


btw
I see your on digi003..
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a used Control 24. Is it still a good idea? Owners or ex-owners please help! Intini ICON & C|24 19 01-01-2009 11:57 AM
Does This seem expensive to you? funeral 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-20-2007 11:17 AM
Least Expensive was to get into TDM PhatBit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 06-03-2005 03:41 AM
Some times there is a waveform when recording and other times not ? duderonomi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-04-2003 11:17 PM
Which is more expensive? Sudsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-10-2001 11:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com