Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2003, 01:53 PM
healer healer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hotbed of the world
Posts: 78
Default Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

i want to bounce my music to a .wav or mp3 or whatever.... does a 9 minute song have to take 9 minutes? doesn't make sense: it's on a HD, afterall. please help with a possible alternative(s). also anyone shed light on saving files on DVD-RW, and audio on DVD-RW? for example, can i play .wav files burned on my DVD-RW on my DVD/CD player? thanks.
__________________
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU
6600 @ 2.40GHz
2.40GHz, 1.98 GB of RAM
Windows XP, Professional, Ed (2002), SP 2
PT MBox 2 Pro 7.3.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2003, 02:08 PM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

Yes!!!! Please Digi, let us BTD faster than real time. And while you're at it maybe a BTD keyboard shortcut??

In the old days the BTD was faster than real time. It was as fast as your computer could do it. They changed it because people were using outboard effects during the mixdown, which only work if real-time audio is going through them. HOWEVER, for those of us who do not use outboard effects, and mix completely in the box, we need a fast BTD option. I do a lot of spoken word work where I have to bounce an hour of someone talking to a low resolution MP3 file.
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2003, 03:59 PM
healer healer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hotbed of the world
Posts: 78
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

That's what i'm talking about! i have hours of orig. music on cassettes, that i'm transferring to DVDs. we want quicker BTD, quicker BTD!!!!
__________________
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU
6600 @ 2.40GHz
2.40GHz, 1.98 GB of RAM
Windows XP, Professional, Ed (2002), SP 2
PT MBox 2 Pro 7.3.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2003, 08:52 PM
Eduardo Luke Eduardo Luke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 24
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

I Totally agree! It would have 2 options. BTD Real Time and BTD Digitally.
__________________
-> LUKE
(sorry for my english...)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2003, 09:44 PM
spookster spookster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 238
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

OK DIGI, if I had a dollar for every time I've seen this request on this forum.....

To me, this is a very basic thing that should be included. Man, I hate having to wait for my mixes to bounce in real time. And so do my clients. I shouldn't have to set aside a half an hour at the end of a mixing session just to bounce songs in real time. It should take a matter of five minutes. Clients love it when you can send them home with a mix of the days improvements. I can't tell you how many times this particular issue has been a major pain in my rear. Clients usually get fed up with having to wait, and just say forget about it, I'll pick it up next session. I know that this issue has come up on this forum many many times. All we are asking for is one simple option to bounce in real-time, or bounce as fast as our computers will do it. It's not like we're asking you to re-write the entire code for the program. It should just be a downloadable update. Every other digital recording platform has this option, why don't you DIGI?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2003, 07:00 AM
djwilmer djwilmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 81
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

I totally agree. Also, bouncing Virtual Synth from midi to audio in realtime is horrible. Every other software does it faster. Why can't Protools?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2003, 07:19 AM
ajderrick ajderrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: nashville, tn, usa
Posts: 68
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

that sure would make it faster hitting the door @ the end of a long day !!

FAST RUFFS!! yeeeesssss...
__________________
AJ Derrick
Phase Concepts Productions
Nashville, Tennessee

G4 933mhz, 768ram
80g FW
Digi 001 / PTLE 5.2.1cs1/ 6.01
DP3 / DP4
MOTU Fastlane
Ableton Live
PeakLE
Various synths / gtrs / amps
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2003, 09:58 AM
kite kite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 392
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

yes please, me too -hate that wait to give client finished or ruff mix...and whilst you're there, how about spdif mirroring on 002 systems - I KEEP ASKING DIGI, but so far NO RESPONSE !!!!!!! Please, make our lives easier, especially for things we have to do at the end of a long ,hard days recording. Thank you-that's all .
__________________
www.kitestudio.co.uk
Mac Pro
Snow Leopard
003 & Midas Venice desk
Mindprint DTC
Soundelux U99
Drawmer M-Clock
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2003, 05:25 AM
Transducr Transducr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 129
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

add my vote to the list...

a "Realtime Bounce To Disk" and perhaps the existing "Bounce To Disk" option could be used for speedy computed bounces...
and shortcut keys for them as the cherry on top...

show us some love DIGI!

can a digi tech guy weigh in on this?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2003, 09:51 AM
misunder misunder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4
Default Re: Does Bouncing to Disk have to be Real Time?

I have used the "export regions as files" option in audio regions list to turn selected stereo and mono regions into burnable files without bouncing in real time. If I'm transfering something from vinyl to Pro Tools for archiving to CD, for example, I'll record the LP, (usually in 16 bit 44.1kHz) separate the individual songs into regions, select them and use the "export selected regions as files" command to create stereo files that I can drag into Jam. I wondered if RTAS plug-ins and automation would be included in the finished SDII, WAV or Aiff file. A brief test showed that they were. I hope this helps.

"Can you make everything louder than everything else?"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real-Time Bounce to Disk...REAL PAIN Brian in Charlotte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 201 07-26-2010 09:12 AM
PTLE 7.4 - Bouncing is real time only? Sam C 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-25-2008 08:04 PM
Not bouncing in real time DeafSoulStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-09-2008 05:59 PM
Bouncing in non-real time Bonestown Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-04-2007 04:54 PM
Bouncing to disc. . . Real TIme Only ? ? ? ? GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-16-2005 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com