Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2015, 10:06 AM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 866
Default Access to User pages files please

Because we move from stage to stage, I would like to take my user page file with me.
Where is that stored on the S6.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2015, 11:27 AM
digimidi's Avatar
digimidi digimidi is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 237
Default Re: Access to User pages files please

This is now possible with S6 v2.1 software. Just go to the user preferences page on the Master Module and press save at the bottom. You can choose where the file is saved, including an USB flash drive or network volume if the system is connected to the facilities network.
__________________
Gil Gowing
Principal
Digimidi Technical Services
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2015, 12:04 PM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 866
Default Re: Access to User pages files please

Quote:
Originally Posted by digimidi View Post
This is now possible with S6 v2.1 software. Just go to the user preferences page on the Master Module and press save at the bottom. You can choose where the file is saved, including an USB flash drive or network volume if the system is connected to the facilities network.
Will this wipe out existing settings?
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2015, 03:37 PM
digimidi's Avatar
digimidi digimidi is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Orlando, FL, USA
Posts: 237
Default Re: Access to User pages files please

Yes, but everyone can save and load their own settings that can be reloaded when they work on the console.
__________________
Gil Gowing
Principal
Digimidi Technical Services
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2015, 06:26 PM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 866
Default Re: Access to User pages files please

But how can we save our current user page setups, and back them up without losing them in the upgrade?
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2015, 07:05 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 842
Default Re: Access to User pages files please

Your saved soft keys will not go away when you upgrade your console software. The only way you will lose them is if you press the Default button from the Softkeys controls.

With that said, 2.1 has some very significant improvements to softkeys including many new pages of functions, better organization and fast workflows for navigating and changing pages. You will not see these until you Default since your appset file being references is legacy. As Gil said, with 2.1 you can save and load directly from the surface, prior to that you would need to login as admin and copy and past the XML files.


You can access the appset XML files from the path here:
SoftKeys are in… C:\ProgramData\Avid\S6\AppSets\

Here are the significant path locations on S6:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nd-Preferences

best,



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2015, 10:54 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 567
Default Re: Access to User pages files please

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
You can access the appset XML files from the path here:
SoftKeys are in… C:\ProgramData\Avid\S6\AppSets\
f
To view these files, you have to tell Windows to show hidden files. When you log into the admin account, open a file explorer window and the option should be in the view menu (if memory serves).

I would back them up, just incase. I duplicated my old appset and renamed it for later use.

That being said, the new appsets in 2.1 are really, really, good. I stopped using my custom one.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12.6
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't access audio files from old session WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 08-16-2010 05:56 PM
Anyone else lost access to the new Avid user pages? belolab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-16-2009 05:16 AM
OSX user accounts access same plugins Nathan W. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-07-2009 10:49 AM
Possible to access WAV or AIF files from Structure patches? raydsr Virtual Instruments 6 05-04-2009 02:18 PM
Files being denied access (ptle) JWALES 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-12-2004 10:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com