Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-24-2019, 03:40 PM
tronnyjenkins tronnyjenkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dallas
Posts: 18
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Wow, plenty of good things for me to look at. Namely the RAM and gpu.

I'm running High Sierra
SSD is in a drive bay
no wireless, not even mouse or keyboard. (side note, is wifi frowned upon?)
16GB RAM, seems I'm way under most of you.
GT120 gpu, sounds like I need to go shopping there too.


Thanks for all the help.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2019, 03:59 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,964
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tronnyjenkins View Post
Wow, plenty of good things for me to look at. Namely the RAM and gpu.

I'm running High Sierra
SSD is in a drive bay
no wireless, not even mouse or keyboard. (side note, is wifi frowned upon?)
16GB RAM, seems I'm way under most of you.
GT120 gpu, sounds like I need to go shopping there too.


Thanks for all the help.
Way under spec'd. Max out the ram - as much as you can fit in three slots. Second put that ssd on a pcie card and in the slot next to the video card or in the next empty card. Speaking of said card - something with a bit more muscle would be good. WIFI is also a no-no for the most part as it can steal cpu cycles.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-24-2019, 04:07 PM
tronnyjenkins tronnyjenkins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dallas
Posts: 18
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Crikey. Looks like I better start washing dishes with my off time to buy even more computer stuff... Oh well. Spend money to make money, right?

The good news is I should be able to use the gt120 in another machine that is being demoted to PT10 duty but has a faulty gpu.

Are there any metal-compatible cards you guys can recommend that I could find used that aren't expensive? We only do audio on this computer, so it doesn't have to be fancy. As long as it won't lag. And gives me my boot screen.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-24-2019, 04:34 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 701
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
First time I hear about this. I have a 4,1 live rig and never had a problem with power... maybe they have done something between 4,1 and 5,1 design?
It is probably more setup specific than design specific. A powered USB hub made everything run much nicer here.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. OSX 10.14.6. HDX. Avid Omni. MacBook Pro 2018. 6 Core i7. 32Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI RX580. Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-24-2019, 06:44 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,964
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tronnyjenkins View Post
Crikey. Looks like I better start washing dishes with my off time to buy even more computer stuff... Oh well. Spend money to make money, right?

The good news is I should be able to use the gt120 in another machine that is being demoted to PT10 duty but has a faulty gpu.

Are there any metal-compatible cards you guys can recommend that I could find used that aren't expensive? We only do audio on this computer, so it doesn't have to be fancy. As long as it won't lag. And gives me my boot screen.
Ram is relatively inexpensive and if you buy from OWC they'll credit you for the ram you already have when you return that old ram to them. And they have a card that will take your ssd and let you use it in a pcie card slot. Both inexpensive. The only expensive part might be the video card and it's hard to give a recommendation because as soon as someone does those cards become scarcer than hen's teeth. Look at these sites for help with the card:
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro...o-51-computers
and here:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=406385

You'll have to decide for yourself what you can afford. But think about this: do you really NEED Mojave? Or can High Sierra work for you? If it can then you don't need to splash-out for a super-duper video card and will save some bucks.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-25-2019, 05:39 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 250
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Ram is relatively inexpensive and if you buy from OWC they'll credit you for the ram you already have when you return that old ram to them. And they have a card that will take your ssd and let you use it in a pcie card slot. Both inexpensive. The only expensive part might be the video card and it's hard to give a recommendation because as soon as someone does those cards become scarcer than hen's teeth. Look at these sites for help with the card:
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro...o-51-computers
and here:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=406385

You'll have to decide for yourself what you can afford. But think about this: do you really NEED Mojave? Or can High Sierra work for you? If it can then you don't need to splash-out for a super-duper video card and will save some bucks.
Even though High Sierra doesn't NEED a new video card, I found that once I replaced mine in my 5,1, PT 12+ got a lot more responsive. Especially working with video. It had become almost unusable with an embedded video at v12 with the original card.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-25-2019, 05:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,964
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
Even though High Sierra doesn't NEED a new video card, I found that once I replaced mine in my 5,1, PT 12+ got a lot more responsive. Especially working with video. It had become almost unusable with an embedded video at v12 with the original card.
Which exact card did you get? I know your sig file says an AMD 7970 but when I Google that card I find what appear to be many variants.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-25-2019, 06:48 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 250
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Which exact card did you get? I know your sig file says an AMD 7970 but when I Google that card I find what appear to be many variants.
I bought a PC card flashed for a Mac. So there is the normal boot screen. There are lots of these for sale out there. I'm not sure if this is the best value today but mine works great.

For example:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/AMD-Radeon-...4AAOSwLZBbstHf
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-25-2019, 06:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,964
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I bought a PC card flashed for a Mac. So there is the normal boot screen. There are lots of these for sale out there. I'm not sure if this is the best value today but mine works great.

For example:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/AMD-Radeon-...4AAOSwLZBbstHf
Thanks but I'd rather stay away from eBay. I have found the Gigabyte AMD 7970 variant that has three fans on it. Not sure but I think it was called Mac compatible.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-25-2019, 07:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,809
Default Re: Fine tuning my Ultimate rig. Little help, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I'd rather stay away from eBay.
Why?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Control Remote Gain fine tuning SteveRada Artist Series 0 10-20-2016 06:00 AM
Fine tuning Trim Automation-Question Xcurve Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 2 03-17-2016 10:32 PM
Fine tuning track volume knobs? timcrow420 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 02-24-2012 07:01 PM
Dual Monitors, nVidia, fine tuning help Chris Shaeffer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-05-2003 11:59 PM
OT- Fine Tuning Powered Monitors: Question… dkrz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-10-2003 03:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com