Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-11-2019, 02:42 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

”what's the point in having a plugin compressor on master fader?
You want a hardware treatment if you are releasing that stuff for money. If you don't have that spice on your rack your ME should have.”

I use a Shadow Hills mastering compressor from UA on pretty much every session I do. The point is, it’s a totally kick-ass piece of software that emulates the hardware splendidly, but everything stays “in the box,” and it’s a LOT more cost-effective! I’m curious whose rule it is that says if we want something like this, we have to buy the hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-11-2019, 05:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,095
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Here's another POV; If it sounds good to you, any compressor will work. BUT, if you are doing this because somebody said "you need to use a compressor", then I would re-evaluate a bit. The best plugins to use are the ones that give you the result YOUR mix needs(what works for the next person may be meaningless if their tracks aren't identical to your tracks.

Yes, always use a Master track, (OR use a master bus to a master AUX). Not only because those options give you a place to use plugins on the whole mix, but also because they let you see metering so you can avoid clipping(its amazing how much clipping can go unnoticed while mixing)

Some alternative plugins for an entire mix:
Waves SSL Bus Comp
Cytomic's The Glue(their version of the SSL)
Slate Grey(their version of the SSL)

Last 2 cents; are you sure its compression you want and not brick-wall limiting? These are 2 somewhat different animals. Compression is more for "glue" but NOT for raising levels(which is what a mastering limiter does a better job of). Some mastering limiters"
Waves L1, L2,L3
Slate FGX
IZotope Ozone(limiting is one of several functions within 1 plugin)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-11-2019, 05:46 PM
Jim_Norman Jim_Norman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 14
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Thanks to all for your responses and suggestions. My original query regarding if compressor inserts worked when bouncing to disk was answered today when I successfully bounced some sessions using a Neutron 3-band compressor and a Waves WLM Plus meter for raising levels and limiting peaks as inserts on a Master Fader. I will review all of your comments again and look into the suggested alternate solutions.

Thanks.
Jim Norman
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-11-2019, 08:37 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,038
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

I've used the PIA "elysia mastering compressor" on the master fader without complaints.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Bouncing to Disk Please skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-22-2008 06:15 AM
Bouncing in session first vs. bouncing straight to disk... WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-07-2007 04:17 PM
Compressor plugin's? Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 03-21-2007 10:40 AM
Bouncing to disk molehill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-06-2006 08:25 PM
Bouncing to Disk sh336697 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-24-2004 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com