Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2012, 04:43 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 668
Default Why do we need sound?

I do a lot of TV commercial work and I am always pushed by clients to squeeze budgets. The main gripe is usually prefaced with, "is that really necessary?"
I have decided to put together a short talk/demo for my client base to show a few whys and hows and underline that, "yes it is necessary".
I would like to ask my esteemed colleagues here in this forum if they can paraphrase an answer to the heading of this post that might help me in my preparation. Forearmed is......

Many thanks, Nick
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2012, 06:03 AM
mr.armadillo mr.armadillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 826
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

I need to pay my bills.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2012, 06:15 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 668
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

Ha ha So do I but I still expect a constructive answer as well!
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2012, 06:33 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

I'm sorry... what? I couldn't hear you... ( tap tap ) hmmm... no sound... HEY! IS THIS THING ON?!!





actually, the client doesn't.... really... they can just shoot with a built in mic and just cut the spot in iMovie and not bother with music, or sound effects, or cleaning up the noise behind the talking head, or adding voiceover... they can just cut the pice and deliver it. If...that's what they want. They may just want that. you can't win this battle, unless the client already understands the value.
If a client wants "sound" work done by the editor.... then that's that.
The only thing I can do is let the client hear the difference between a project with poorly editing and mixed sound, and a project done well... Its then up to them to decide of its financially worth it.


cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2012, 09:23 AM
Henchman Henchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Encino, CA
Posts: 866
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

Simple.
Tell them to compare their avid mix to the final.

And then ask them, why pay for color correction.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv
IMDB Credit List

Living the dream.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:41 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

because as some wag said - sound without pictures is radio, but pictures without sound is surveillance!

Here is a quote I believe from the Discovery Channel which I saved as I thought on occasions like this it would come in handy:

"* Audio is the single most important technical factor governing viewer retention; bad video edits or color correction, etc. are not nearly as influential in keeping a viewer tuned to a program as are bad audio edits, compression or EQ.

* For every 1 viewer that takes the time to write and complain, nearly 1000 simply switch the channel.

It is a common belief among some Producers that a hotter mix creates a more positive viewer response. All research indicates that this is not true.

Mark Edmondson
Supervisor, Audio Post Production"


Quote this at your productions over a friendly beer...

cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:59 AM
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 469
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

"Sound is 50% of the movie" (Steven Spielberg)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:06 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 607
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

Slightly off topic but...

'Interesting' that The Artist was nominated for Best Sound at The BAFTAS!!

Was that a joke?



I hope its not going to start a trend or I'll be out of a job.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:18 PM
zoing123 zoing123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Big Apple
Posts: 87
Cool Re: Why do we need sound?

Tell them what Jim Henson told me in 1969. :"the better it sounds the better it sells!"
__________________
Dick Maitland C.A.S.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:39 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 668
Default Re: Why do we need sound?

Thank you all for your replies. Nice stuff to mull over. If there are any more of you don't hesitate to add your thoughts.
Cheers, Nick
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 master volume knob initial adjust jumps from no sound to sound : | Focuret 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2012 05:45 PM
Audacity Sound, Reaper Sound, Pro Tools NO SOUND RoganX Pro Tools 10 3 03-18-2012 10:06 PM
MBox2Pro - Boot:No Sound; Disconnect/Reconnect Firewire: Get Sound; Why? mav9999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-23-2009 09:48 PM
Skywalker Sound (Lucasfilm) Supervising Sound Editor Interview HDFilmtools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-02-2008 04:12 PM
MBox used as main sound card but sound is jerky Jonny5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-03-2006 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com