Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-11-2015, 03:10 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Just a question....Can you use two E3 engines at one time?

Like you said, maybe Avid is holding off for future expansion.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-11-2015, 03:13 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Voyles View Post
Just a question....Can you use two E3 engines at one time?

Like you said, maybe Avid is holding off for future expansion.
Yes you can, but they work like two separate systems, they can share the same stage boxes.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-11-2015, 07:42 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
Yes you can, but they work like two separate systems, they can share the same stage boxes.
Can it be used as a redundant backup? (Automatic switch?)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2015, 09:20 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Voyles View Post
Can it be used as a redundant backup? (Automatic switch?)
No such functionality needed since they don't crash
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-04-2016, 11:45 PM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
It's real easy to check actually... since in the box we have an HDX card that has 18 DSP chips, but then if you look at your devices tab I bet you can count only 12 chips, 8 allocated and 4 free for plugins.

That gives us what? 6 hidden chips if I'm not mistaken.

So in theory there should be loads of DSP available right in there, ready to go, but Avid has hard time letting go of the old habit of limiting it's own products capabilities

Or then again they might keep the chips hidden so when sampling rate goes up and more DSP is needed for the same amount of work we would not "loose" DSP.

Or then again if all the DSP were available, today, in the S3L then maybe Profile would look bad.. I don't know. All I know is I need ALL these 18 chips for a super nice mix. I like D-verbs, but I would love to run ReVibes instead, but with the current DSP counts it's simply not possible by 50% per chip DSP counts of ReVibe and Sonnox reverb takes even 80%, as my friend has just told me, haven't tested that one myself since my Sonnox license is Accel only.

Avid, there is no point holding back the S3L-horses!

Interesting theory. When you compare S3L-X to other systems it looks odd. A New system with no integrated Waves support and it lacks behind in DSP resources, Compared to other systems. Of course Venue has always had a large plugin racks, for fx. But with the coming of Waves and UAD integration to lots of other systems it seems out of balance.

Venue S3L-X 64 inputs, 24 aux/vargroups
Digico SD9 96 inputs, 48 aux/vargroups
Allen Heath DLive 128 inputs, 64 aux/vargroups
Roland M5000 128 audio paths
Soundcraft VI 2000&3000 96 inputs, 24 aux/vargroups

would be interesting to see how S3L-X develops. I would love to see a Venue console replacing SC48. As for now S3L-X isn't in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-01-2016, 12:20 PM
Matysiak.m.d Matysiak.m.d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 15
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

This Dsp cart is as S6L but You Can use only 12 Dsp.
Rest of Dsp is for 96Khz . But that is on future . Why now we Can not use all At 48 KHz all Dsp ? That is question to Avid?
If someone need compact desk dont buy S6L.
Im hope Avid dont kill this Product and stop working about it.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-01-2016, 11:24 PM
HLD HLD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 79
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Honestly, that's what it looks like to me. S6L is now on Venue 5.3 software. The S3L haven't gotten any updates for more than a year. It's a shame, the S3L is great for us who do fly jobs. I'd love to see an option of running at 96k for working with it's big brother, or stay at 48k and have those last chips for plugs. It won't happen though. Avid care about new sales. Not existing users.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-02-2016, 12:38 AM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 339
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Honestly it didn't sound like S3L is anywhere on the horizon for an update or refresh at AES. It just feels like this product is dead. It was a great idea that was poorly executed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-02-2016, 12:59 AM
HLD HLD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 79
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Its starting to become a trend I think. In protools Avid are prioritizing new features over stability - which tells me they are more interested in new sales than their exciting users. In consoles, they are only working at the S6L to generate new sales over exciting users. Ignoring the iPad request and ignoring to move the S3L forward all tells me that they are not interested in their users. It also gives me clear guidance in where to place my money on my next purchase.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-02-2016, 10:56 AM
DanielR DanielR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 23
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

And what is the competing superior product? I see - unfortunately - no competition for the S3L on the market. Am I missing something?

What puts me off most is the lack of compact (3U) affordable 32in16out stage box, limited use of AVB's capabilities and lack of Windows AVB driver so would have to buy (and work) into Apple gear.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide/Count Plugin z1221 Virtual Instruments 2 12-12-2013 03:18 PM
Plugin Count at 96kh....help please psus15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-07-2004 08:42 AM
IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT? el matador 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-12-2002 07:33 PM
Mbox Plugin count Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-21-2002 05:19 PM
Plugin count jfk-studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-09-2002 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com