Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-29-2013, 12:46 PM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
List pricing sent to dealers is as follows:

S3L System 16 $17995.-
S3L System 32 $21990.-
S3L System 48 $25985.-
S3L System 64 $29980.-
Stage 16 Remote I/O $3995.-
E3 Engine $12995.-

So as you see, for larger systems you pay extra exactly how much the Stage 16's costs.
For just a 16 input system i don't find it that attractive as i hoped it to be.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:38 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikingthor View Post
For just a 16 input system i don't find it that attractive as i hoped it to be.
Well, that's true, but for VENUE addicted people it's still a way to get the high quality sound they are used to for smaller gigs at reasonable price. I can easily relate to a situation, where I have my rock artist doing a duo acoustic show in a small venue and there is no way for me to get my Profile up there, even not a SC48, but I could pull that show off (with much higher quality than LS9 or crappy analog board) on this S3L using multibands and good reverbs and other FX.

The real value of this system, to me, comes into play when we need to mix 48-64 channels and have tracking running too. Up to this point we would have needed a Profile with two stage racks, HDx card in Profile + HDX or HDN interfaces + computer. How much $$$ would that be? Now we can have just the "big" S3L system and a laptop with Pro Tools 11, since as I said before, this desk connected to regular Pro Tools 11 will enable you to use 64 track recording thru the ethernet port, no external hardware required!

And these are list prices. Street price will probably be lower.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:57 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: News...

Yeah they lost me at these price points. Not out of line IMO, but out of my range.

However with them allowing 64-channels over Ethernet, any chance in the world I could track from a 64-channel board through Dante into pt11 with 64 inputs? In other words off our churches A&H iLive rig via our Dante card into pro tools with all 64 channels?

That would be a dream come true and make up for the CPTK fiasco. At least IMO.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-29-2013, 02:10 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
Yeah they lost me at these price points. Not out of line IMO, but out of my range.

However with them allowing 64-channels over Ethernet, any chance in the world I could track from a 64-channel board through Dante into pt11 with 64 inputs? In other words off our churches A&H iLive rig via our Dante card into pro tools with all 64 channels?

That would be a dream come true and make up for the CPTK fiasco. At least IMO.
PT11 will have 32 I/O and the only device that opens it up for 64 I/O is the S3L.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-29-2013, 04:03 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
PT11 will have 32 I/O and the only device that opens it up for 64 I/O is the S3L.
I was afraid if that. Any chance HD11 (w/ 3rd party interfaces) will allow more I/O?
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-29-2013, 04:31 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: News...

my one knock would be the location of the headphone jack, rear is inconvenient
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-29-2013, 04:52 PM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 206
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
my one knock would be the location of the headphone jack, rear is inconvenient
jep so i thought also about the power supply, especially for the price of the console, you want redundancy, well at least i would.

but i guess this is how they could make it that small
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-29-2013, 05:21 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: News...

also anyone want to bet that someone turns the surface off when they go to plug in soem headphones?

lack of a locking PSU connection is not good ether
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-29-2013, 05:30 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,344
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
I was afraid if that. Any chance HD11 (w/ 3rd party interfaces) will allow more I/O?
well that beside the HD native card.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-29-2013, 11:07 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 598
Default Re: News...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CME View Post
I was afraid if that. Any chance HD11 (w/ 3rd party interfaces) will allow more I/O?
Sure, PT11HD allows 256 I/O but you need HDX cards and compatible interfaces. Since Accel era interfaces work, you have quite wide range of interfaces to choose from. I'm afraid without HDX cards you will still be limited to 32 I/O even with PT11HD software.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIR Blog - Bad News... Good News RussUK Virtual Instruments 3 04-01-2009 04:19 AM
Good News and Bad News....original Mbox & Pt Le 6.4 captain54 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-02-2007 10:52 PM
Here's some news about D-Fx on PT LE6 Stone Knife 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-16-2003 10:29 PM
news about PT6 johnn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2003 08:11 PM
Any news about ... JLC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-30-2002 02:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com